Unpacking Shadow of the Colossus [Part 1 of 2]

The time I spent with Shadow of the Colossus a few months back can be summed up in one word: conflicted. Most other words escape me now, so here’s part one of my experience with the game, which you’ll find over on Virtual Bastion.

VIRTUAL BASTION

This post contains spoilers! If you’ve not played this game and want to, check back after you’ve done just that. Meanwhile, there’s plenty else to do…like, watch Virtual Bastion on YouTube. This is also the first half of what turned out to be a very long article, so check back next Thursday for the second half.


As Shadow of the Colossus starts to load, which takes considerably longer than anticipated, I’m a little nervous. I’d heard so many good things about this game, and I wonder/worry if I’m bringing along any preconceived notions. But, truth be told, I don’t know a thing about the game expect that it involves giant creatures. No matter what I’ve heard, it’s hard for me to draw any…

My thoughts stop mid-sentence as the opening scene begins. I’m in awe of the gorgeous scenery that brings to mind a watercolor landscape. The music is stunningly…

View original post 1,113 more words

One thought on “Unpacking Shadow of the Colossus [Part 1 of 2]”

Start a conversation

