Five on Shuffle, #7

Welcome to my new monthly series called “Five on Shuffle” where I attempt to reconnect with my iPod by using it regularly throughout the year and using it only and continuously on “shuffle.” Once a month I’m going to stop at a completely random interval, snap photos of five songs in a row, and then post and write about them here. The writing may be heavy or light, depending on whether or not I’ve anything remotely clever to say about any given song in the moment.


1. Chicago/We Can Change the World – Graham Nash

I was obsessed with the 1960s in high school. Is that a strange thing to say? Part of it had to do with Desert Storm, where I found myself equally obsessed and disgusted by its news coverage. The result of that latter was an inexplicable blossoming of my own inner (and heretofore unknown) anti-war flower child. This was also when I found myself especially drawn to history and learning about historical events. I read and watch everything I could that had to do with the decade. It wasn’t until years after high school that NBC released “The 60’s,” a TV movie treatment of this tumultuous era. I was a bit less obsessed then, but still enough so to become enamored of its soundtrack.

TL;DR – I like the 1960s and all its idealistic/sarcastic, peace and love songs, like this one from Graham Nash.


2. Barracuda – Heart

I adore Heart. I came to know them during the 1980s through glam hits such as “These Dreams” and “What About Love.” (If any one Heart song cemented my adoration, it was 1987’s “Who Will You Run To,” which still sets my heart all a’ flutter.) As I moved from Top 40 radio to classic rock throughout my high school years (speaking of which), that’s when I discovered that Heart had a much larger and more diverse catalog that went well beyond glam rock. Through songs like “Magic Man,” “Dreamboat Annie,” and the all-time classic “barracuda,” I fell in love with the Wilson sisters all over again.


3. Rehab – Any Winehouse

RIP Ms. Winehouse. Words are hardly enough; her music speaks for itself.


4. Alright – Oskar

Of all the Punk-O-Rama albums that I have (ten total), the 3rd one is by far my favorite. Now, that’s primarily because it served as my gateway to All/The Descendants, because the album contain “World’s on Heroin” by All, which is one the best fucking songs e-v-e-r. (Also, quite prescient, eh? Not being trite, just point out facts.) But great, accessible tunes like “Alright” from Oskar, a band that crashed and burned itself right out of existence, certainly helped.


5. Here It Goes Again – Ok Go

You remember way back when when I talk about obsessions? Well, one of the things about me and obsessions is that I often don’t see them coming. But it has happened that something comes along that I think is going to turn into an obsession..only…it just sorta…fizzles. That’s how I thought things might go with Ok Go. Like a lot of folks (or so I imagine), I was hooked by their 2006 treadmill video for “Here It Goes Again” (and YouTube was still pretty new back then, so anything interesting was more interesting that the previous interesting thing you watched.) Treadmills aside, I also really liked the song and though “yeah, I could get into Ok Go.” Only I never did, beyond purchasing this one song. Oh well.

Start a conversation

