Fifteen Songs – “Five on Shuffle” edition

If you’ve been with me for awhile, you know that for the past few years, on or around July 4th, I’ve played the “Fifteen Songs” games here. It’s a trivial and now dated bit I stole from Facebook where you put your iPod, or other music player of choice on shuffle, and then you post the first fifteen songs that appear. The idea behind the whole thing is something akin to an icebreaker, where one is suppose to discard all pretenses and impressions as one’s guilty listening pleasures are laid bare for the world to see. Eh…sure. For me it started as a simple way to post something around July 4th, which is usually my busiest weekend of the summer.

So here we are, and suddenly it’s the day before July 4th (wasn’t January just, like, last week??), and, y’know, I’m not one to buck tradition. But, I’m also stuck (which I only only lightly because I am enjoying the process) in my year-long “Five on Shuffle” experiment. This means that for this “Fifteen Songs” post, rather than start over at song number one, I’m simply going to pick up with the song that’s currently in queue, and then post it and the following fourteen songs. It’ll still be random as random can be. And the tradition will continue. Lucky me.

As always, what follows is my longer takes on the first five songs, followed by a list with links of remaining songs.

Oh, and by the way, if you’re here, then good on you! I’m recovering from a weekend hangover, which involved mostly food…mostly…and there’s still today and tomorrow to get through. At the end of which, I’m looking forward to channeling my inner pyro and blowing some shit up. With music, of course.


1. “Didn’t Leave Nobody But the Baby” – Alison Krauss, Emmylou Harris, Gillian Welch (from O Brother, Where Art Thou?)

My love for the O Brother Where Art Thou? soundtrack is as wide as the Mississippi River and as deep as the beautiful American South. “Didn’t Leave Nobody But the Baby” is a particular favorite. A haunting and somewhat morbid lullaby sung in the most gorgeous harmonies by three amazing women.


2. “It Must Look Pretty Appealing” – Bad Religion

Nobody puts the truth out in sarcasm better than Bad Religion. They say more here about the state of the human race in a minute and thirty seconds than any politician or “leader” ever could. The grass is always greener…until one realizes just what’s on the grass. By the way, No Control is a fucking rad album.


3. “Farewell” – The Smooths

Oh Apple…it’s actually The Smooths. Unfortunately, that’s about all I know about this ska band. I do know that I saw the Warped Tour in 2000, but I don’t think The Smooths were on the roster. By then, the ska revival was already heading into a downswing, not to any extensive degree, but I think the late 90s was its definite heyday. This article suggests that the band is still performing in some manner, thought it seems they aren’t recording. I think they’d be pretty cool to see live.


4. “Orgullecida” – Buena Vista Social Club

I was introduced to the Beuna Vista Social Club somewhere around aught-four. I was working then in a small consignment shop, and Beuna Vista Social Club’s self-titled album was one of the CDs that was in regular rotation. I really enjoyed listening to it while working. I’m afraid that I can’t really speak to individual songs, but it’s a great album overall. One that’s an excellent accompaniment to one’s daily routine.


5. “The Wrong Company” – Flogging Molly

Ha. Speaking of the Warped Tour, that’s where I first met Flogging Molly. I’m not a concert-goer, but seeing them live was damn near one of the highlights of my entire life. At that time they were promoting their album Swagger, and I had never heard the likes of an Irish punk band. I was blown away, especially by the lead singer’s voice, which I found to be perfectly enthralling. This drinking diddy is a lovely example that shows off his pipes.


And the remaining ten songs are…

6. “Calypso” – Robert Randolph & The Family Band
7. “Killer Instinct” – Styles of Beyond
8. “Shambala” – The Beastie Boys
9. “Summertime” (UFO Remix) – Sarah Vaughan from Verve Remixed
10. “Do You Hear What I Hear?” – The Harry Simeone Chorale
11. “All Star” – Smashmouth
12. “In the Manger” – Plymouth Festival Orchestra [No link found, but it’s a sweetly-sung holiday hymn.]
13. “Hotwax” – Beck
14. “Hobbes Cave” – Russel Shaw, composer (from Fable)
15. “Death of Tybalt” – Sergei Prokofiev, composer (from Romeo and Juliet)


Happy 4th o’ July to one and all! And do be safe if you’re going to be blowing some shit up. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Fifteen Songs – “Five on Shuffle” edition”

    1. Ha! I’m with you there. Except…while Bluegrass gets a big ol’ “yes” from me, I haven’t yet been able to get into Country. I can deal with older stuff, Hank Williams, Patsy Cline, etc., but the newer stuff just leaves me cold.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, to be clear, I’m not an huge fan of all the modern, churned out stuff (kids today, etc, etc) – but more the older, walking the line between Folk, Country and Bluegrass kinda stuff.

        From just that one song, I ended up delving into AK, EH and GW’s solo stuff, for example, and whilst it’s not done much for my street cred, it’s definitely been a rewarding journey for the most part.

        Liked by 1 person

Start a conversation

