I could not be less excited for Bioware’s new game, Anthem

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

This year’s E3 press conferences have come and gone, and my big takeaway from it all — from the X.B.O.X. to nothingness from Bethesda to “looks like Nintendo isn’t dead after all” – is that I couldn’t care less about Anthem.

After watching EA’s presser on last Saturday, the looming question was “what the hell is Anthem??” was the only one that remained. Both my husband and I rightly assumed that it could be something very cool from the mere few seconds that were shown. It was at least enough to get the speculation gears churning, and it was enough for us to sit through the orgy of teasers and trailers shown off at the Microsoft, aka “You REALLY need an Xbox One X, right??” press conference the next day.

The reveal of Anthem was…ick. It was just icky.

That’s pretty much what I said after the reveal. “Ick.”

Okay, not everything seemed icky. The graphics were really pretty and impressive. Everything else was icky. From it feeling like a Destiny clone to a rather lackluster narrative to…oh my god…those three dreaded words:

Open.

World.

Game.

Mark my words, people, I cannot and will not invest in another open world game from Bioware. I’m sorry, but it simply will not happen.

“But wait!” you cry. “You were one of the jerks who gave into Mass Effect: Andromeda after professing that you weren’t interested! That’s…that’s just a dick move, you evil…jerky….flip-flopper!”

That’s true. So much can change in the course of a year. (Anthem is due out in 2018.) I’m only speaking from my gut here, and that’s really only after seeing the smallest sliver of what’s to come.

Honestly, though, what’s promoting these feelings is open-world fatigue. I mean, really do love open-world games. I swear. But when it came time to search for something else to play after completing Mass Effect: Andromeda, I realized that I had spent most of the first half of 2017 (and a little bit near the end of 2016) playing nothing but open-world games. I just finished Borderlands 2 (check out Virtual Bastion tomorrow for my run-down about its insane brilliance), and before that, I was all about Andromeda. Prior to that, there was Fable Anniversary, Fallout: New Vegas, Batman: Arkham Asylum, and Assassin’s Creed II, all of which fall within the spectrum of open-worldness. Sure, I played through a couple outliers, but I’ve pretty much been open-world, all-the-time, and…I’m tired of it.

Seeing Anthem only reinforced that self-imposed exhaustion. As such, I remain fully uninterested in investing…or rather, planning to invest…any more of my personal resources into this particular title.


Wednesday, June 21, 2017 (am)

Confused? Why the dates? Well, I started writing this post last night after reading more non-news about Anthem. I was so un-buzzed about the general buzz that’s still surrounding this game, that I felt compelled to put a directive into words: DO NOT BUY ANTHEM (*at release). Because today, while I feel less jazzed up about the whole thing, I feel that, given time and how weak-willed I’ve been about giving into Bioware titles in the past, I may more than likely curl once Anthem is on the market.

But, I can’t! I just…can’t. {sob} I’ve no interest in returning to Dragon Age: Inquisition! I can barely bring myself to play Mass Effect: Andromeda again despite that fact that it is a good game! It’s not that I hate Bioware, but I just haven’t truly, madly, or deeply loved their recent open-world games!!

… … …

Damn. This is all quite silly, isn’t it? Me getting worked up over a game that won’t even see the light of day for some time. I’ve got to have better things to do with my time. Like, Shadow of the Colossus, which I just started. I’m not even sure what to make of it yet, except that I’m having trouble with the control scheme. But boy oh boy, it is ever pretty.

I’m currently feeling like this is a pretty worthless post, but I’m not going to delete it. It may really be that I’m not particularly mad at Anthem itself, but rather at the fact that E3 was simply blah. (Though seeing a bit more of Detroit: Become Human was a high point.) I’m much more excited about Shadow of the Colossus and playing/replaying games in my current collection over just about anything that was shown during this year’s E3 press conferences or otherwise. Mass Effect: Andromeda also reminded me that release dates are overrated. If I had known that I’d be picking up a somewhat incomplete and broken (for some) game at the start, then I surely would have waited on purchasing it.


Wednesday, June 21, 2017 (pm)

Well, this turned into a rather jumbly post. As I’m re-reading it now, I’ve no clue how to turn it into anything cohesive. So I won’t. It’s not a good post, but it does reflect some of the most in-the-moment writing that I’ve ever done…which is probably why I’ve refrained from a lot of in-the-moment writing before. Haha. I’m still sour about Anthem and E3, but those feelings are quickly fading. There are simply better thing to do/play/worry about, like figuring how to take down more colossi! It is a damn pretty, pretty game.

12 thoughts on “I could not be less excited for Bioware’s new game, Anthem”

  1. I just about had the same reaction as you did about Anthem. It looked pretty when I saw the trailers for it, but I haven’t really been sold on the whole Destiny type of video games in general. I kinda like playing co-op when I’m in the mood for it, otherwise I want to play on my own most of the time. I don’t want to feel like the only time I can play a certain game is when I’m playing with someone else. This kinda seems to be the case with this one. But you never know, it may wow us later! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, a lot can happen in a year! I mean, after Andromeda, I’d certainly like to see Bioware come out on top again. But if Anthem turns out to be one of those always online, preferably multiplayer games, I’d likely give it a pass, too. However, if that’s what the game turns out to be, I hope they make the best online, multiplayer game around, otherwise, it’s just going to be another fish in a very big sea.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I was tentatively hopeful for Anthem at its reveal, mostly because I blame it for the reason Andromeda’s development was botched, so “this has got to be a good game, right?” I think it’ll have a decent story and good characters, but the more I read about it, the less hopeful I am. They are really stepping away from the RPG that they’re good at to a more shooter feel. I hate to point at EA and blame them, but this is a pattern we’ve seen before. It’s not a game I’ll get at release, but is probably one I’ll eventually own. I have a feeling they’re leaving one market behind in favor of another, really…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Y’know, now that you mention it, is it possible that Bioware, itself, could be a bit burnt out on open-world games, too? It seems strange that they’d abandon their bread and butter, but…maybe a change is in order. I’m not saying it’s the right change, but maybe that’s what’s behind Anthem. Change. Now, if that’s the case, the only sad thing is that if Anthem represents this change, then, as you and others have pointed out, it’s not really bringing anything new to the table. It’d be different for Bioware, maybe, but in the end it’d just be another open-world-ish shooter with RPG elements, maybe. I don’t know. It’ll probably turn out to be a good game, but not one that I’ll plan to scoop up at release either.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s an interesting idea, that BioWare would be burned out from open world games, too. I’d advocate to a return to more RPG type games like Dragon Age: Origins or even Mass Effect 1, but that’s just me… 😉 I don’t think enough folks are making real RPGs… I guess we’ll just have to wait and see how Anthem goes…

        Like

  3. I’m getting burnt out on open-world games too. Anthem sure has the benefit of being graphically enticing, but I can’t really tell what it really has to offer though. The use of fake live chat in the trailer presented it as a multiplayer only title, and the similarities to Destiny are pretty hard to ignore.

    That said, if the freedom of movement shown is actually a thing, such as being able to use a jetpack, then I’d be more interested. The same goes for the rethinking of character customization, evolving classes into kits that you can switch between.

    In other words, Anthem looks neat, but it reminds me too much of The Division, Destiny, and Rainbow Six: Siege for me to be sold on it yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It certainly does seem awfully similar to a number of recent games, right? That plays into my ennui, as well. As you said, there are certain aspects of the game that really do look enticing, but is it all going to equal up into a game that sets itself apart in an already crowded playing field? We’ll just have to wait and see.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, same here. The draw of online multiplayer just isn’t my thing. Even though it’s still early, it does seem like Anthem is for the online multiplayer crowd. If that turns out to be the case, I hope they love it.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Different strokes for different folks :). I placed Anthem in my top 5 games of E3. My wife and I want to play it and I can’t wait to see more of it. And I’ll never get tired of Bioware open world games. They’re not the best open world games, but they’re not the worst either. And I actually liked Andromeda so…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I enjoyed Andromeda as well. This rant is mostly my open-world funk talking – I just took in too much at once without realizing it. I know that I may eventually come around to Anthem, and I want nothing more than for it to be a big hit for Bioware. Their games are really second to none when it comes to gameplay and storytelling.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. There’s been a lot of open world games lately. I took a break from them because I was burned out after playing back to back open world games. I came back for Zelda, and Andromeda.

        High five to you for liking Andromeda! I don’t know many people that do, but I thought it was good.

        Liked by 1 person

Start a conversation

