Five on Shuffle, #5

Welcome to my new monthly series called “Five on Shuffle” where I attempt to reconnect with my iPod by using it regularly throughout the year and using it only and continuously on “shuffle.” Once a month I’m going to stop at a completely random interval, snap photos of five songs in a row, and then post and write about them here. The writing may be heavy or light, depending on whether or not I’ve anything remotely clever to say about any given song in the moment.


1. Hyperspeed (G-Force Part 2) – The Prodigy

My gateway into electronica began with The Prodigy. But it didn’t start with their beginnings, which well…isn’t this album here, Experience Expanded, but it’s close. No, I didn’t know the band existed until their third album, The Fat of the Land. Their addictive and vindictive hit “Breathe” ensnared me from the get-go. And once I had sufficiently laid that album threadbare, I dived down the rabbit hole. Experience Expanded isn’t as memorable for me as the band’s other offerings. It plays out like a hyperactive ferret at a rave. (And where’s that Pixar movie, huh?) It bounces between sounds and never settles. That’s not to say it isn’t great, but hearing it definitely transports me to a very particular and somewhat dated mindspace full of big pants and tall shoes. This song, “Hyperspeed (G-Force Part 2),” is rollicking good fun though.

HIPA! HIP HIP HIPA HIPA!

Now where the hell’s my glowstick?!


2. Warning – Freestylers featuring Navigator

It’s rather fitting that Freestylers should follow The Prodigy, because if I hadn’t discovered one (The Prodigy), I likely would never have discovered the other. And oh my god, I cannot imagine my life without We Rock Hard. Hell, it’s the album that got me through grad school with its pumping dub rhythms and rhymes and gorgeously technical breakbeats. Every single song is a winner here. So sure, how about “Warning?” Yes, please. Yes, all the time, please!


3. The Way You Move – OutKast featuring Sleepy Brown

I like OutKast. I mean, I like them well enough, and I think they’re good at what they do — producing slick, catchy, and mostly accessible hip hop — but I don’t actually own any of their albums. (Well, I do roundaboutly, I guess, as my husband has a couple of their early ones in his CD stash.) I’ve no idea why I picked up “The Way You Move” one day from the iTunes store. It was probably stuck in my head or something. It’s no “ATLiens,” but it’s alright.


4. Emergency – Motörhead (as Headgirl)

Oh, Motörhead. There’s plenty of great thrashy, visceral, punk-laden metal out there, but I mean, c’mon…can you really get better than Motörhead? (Please convince me otherwise.) For anyone curious about that name, Headgirl…what would you call it? I guess collaboration fits, though maybe it doesn’t. It was something of a team-up of Motörhead and Girlschool (an A-MAZING band). So this is a cover of Girlschool’s “Emergency” by Motörhead, and it…isn’t? Well, fuck categorization. It’s awesome.


5. O Holy Night – Irish Promenade Orchestra

I wondered how long it’d take before a Christmas song showed up here. What can I say, I like Christmas-y music, and I possess quite a bit of it on the ol’ iPod. One of the odd thoughts that I had when I started this project was that I’d probably be really annoyed with hearing Christmas music out of season. Turns out that I don’t mind it all that much. I couldn’t find this particular rendition of “O Holy Night” from the Irish Promenade Orchestra in video form, so the video below will have to do. I will say that is one of those holiday songs that I really only like when sung by a chorus. Pop versions of the song (or operatic pop version a la Sarah Brightman) just do don’t for me.

9 thoughts on “Five on Shuffle, #5”

  1. I love this idea, and I, too, still have Christmas music on quite a few of my regular playlists. I love the overly religious/classical sounding type even though I myself am agnostic. It brings back good memories since I used to sing such melodies all through grade school, college, and even afterwards.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Choir junkie here, too. 🙂 Christmas concerts were always my favorite. And the more traditional the holiday music, the better, as far as I was concerned. I don’t mind pop holiday music as much these days, but my heart will always be with the classic stuff.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Right?! I miss it so much, and I agree. I’m more tolerant of the popular stuff, but I much prefer the classical/traditional/religious stuff. What’s your favorite Christmas song? I’m a huge fan of Emmanuel, and The Piano Guys do an amazing version of it, so does Loreena McKennitt.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Favorite Christmas song…hmm. ALL of them! Haha. No, but it is hard to pick just one. Emmanuel is a gorgeous song. I’ve not heard Loreena McKennitt’s version, so I’ll have to go look it up. I love listening to a nice rendition of “Do You Hear What I Hear,” particularly any that feature all parts of a full choir. When it comes to singing however, “Adeste Fideles” takes the cake. I know it well. Too well, probably. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          1. LK has two amazing Christmas albums: To Drive the Cold Winter Away and another one whose name I don’t remember. This is the link for Emmanuel.

            I actually love the old Bing Crosby version of “Do You Hear What I Hear,” and also the Mannheim Steamroller rendition. Adeste Fidelis is a beautiful song, and I prefer the Latin 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

Start a conversation

