The Mystery Blogger Award is no mystery!

If you’ve been following me here for awhile, you know that I’m a big ol’ sucker when it comes to blog awards. Chain letter comparisons aside, there’s no denying that they are kind of fun. And who doesn’t enjoy a little peer-to-peer recognition every now and then? All this is to say that the very kind Mr. Steiner of Falcon Game Reviews recently sent the Mystery Blogger Award my way, and I’m more than pleased to say thank you. By the way, he’s no blogging slouch, so do check out/follow his incredible site that’s full of all sorts of gaming goodness!


Now, we all know how these things go, so let’s get on with the rules. Or, at least, some of them.

  1. Put the award logo/image on your blog [Done!]
  2. List the rules [So meta.]
  3. Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog [Done and doner!]
  4. Mention the creator of the award and provide a link as well [Below]
  5. Tell your readers three things about yourself [Keep reading…]
  6. Nominate 10 – 20 people [Um.]
  7. Notify your nominees by commenting on their blog [Well.]
  8. Ask your nominees any 5 questions of your choice; with one weird or funny question (specify) [Hmm…]
  9. Share a link to your best post(s) [Huh. Okay.]

Okay then. In no particular order…

Rule #4
What is the Mystery Blogger Award? Well, it was was created by Okoto Enigma with the following mission statement: (The) “‘Mystery Blogger Award’ is an award for amazing bloggers with ingenious posts. Their blog not only captivates; it inspires and motivates. They are one of the best out there, and they deserve every recognition they get. This award is also for bloggers who find fun and inspiration in blogging; and they do it with so much love and passion.”


Rule #5
Tell your readers three things about yourself.

(1) I’m probably dyslexic, to a degree. Many years ago, when I was subject to IQ tests and such in school, a counselor suggested to my parents that I be tested for dyslexia based on my general troubles with reading comprehension. I have to admit that I don’t recall undergoing any official tests then, but over time its symptoms have become pretty clear — I transpose numbers and letters, I edit my writings (from blog posts to emails) to death because early drafts usually contain a billion typos, and I easily mix up right and left (please don’t ever ask me for directions). It also takes me forever and a day to get through a book, as I often end up reading the same passages over and over again without realizing it. This isn’t something that keeps me up at night, but there you have it.

(2) I’m really great at losing scissors. For some reason, they are just super easy for me to misplace. And then when I need a pair, I can’t find any to save my damn life. So I end up buying new ones. When I die, I’m pretty sure that whoever has to clean out my house is going to find a goddamn treasure trove of scissors.

(3) I have never owned nor will ever own a pair of UGGS. A more revolting footwear I cannot not imagine. Every time winter rolls round and the UGGS come out, I hate them with all the fiery passion that a burning hellfire can offer. I hate looking at them. I hate looking at people wearing them. I hate the very fact that they exist in the pop culture mainstream. I hate thinking about them.

Well then.


Question time! I think this goes under Rule #8.

What’s something that you know you should give up, but haven’t; and why haven’t you?

Caffeine, because I’m a caf-fiend…lololololololol… lol? Anyway, yeah, fuckin’ coffee, my friends. I l-o-v-e it, but I know I drink too much of it. And it’s not only the coffee that’s the problem, it’s the coffee and… situation. Because so many deliciously sweet things go beautifully with coffee. Huh. Maybe it’s sugar that I need to give up. But fuck that too. If I’m going down, I’m going down swinging!

Name something that makes you truly happy. Not something you merely enjoy. Something that fills you with joy.

Completing something. Anything. A project, a game, a spreadsheet, a meal. Maybe the feeling there is closer to “joyous relief,” but I’m still pretty damn pleased in that singular moment of completion.

What’s the proudest you’ve ever been of yourself, or someone else?

Seeing my husband graduate college. Because of family and personal issues, it took him quite a bit longer to get through school than most. But on his graduation day, I couldn’t have been happier for him. Seeing everyone there for him, from friends to family…man, it was all just so awesome.

What is your favorite video game weapon (realistic or ridiculous)?

Right now I’d say Shotgun 1340 from Borderlands 2. It contains an AI that speaks to you in oddball catch phrases both during battles and when you have it in your backpack. It’s rather silly, but then again, so is most of the game.

As an aside, I have to shoutout Cable’s Viper Beam from Marvel vs. Capcom 2. It’s a big gun that’s part of one his special attacks that fires a massive laser. It makes me smile.

What is the strangest thought that has entered your brain? Don’t act like there hasn’t been one…

Oh ho, there have been many. In fact, if “strange thoughts” was a college major I’d be…well, something. Or something else. Anyway. One strange recurring thought (that may or may not also be psychotic) that I have occurs when I’m on public transportation. I hate it when people take up seats with their backpacks, luggage, food bags, etc. When I see that happen, I always think “I wonder what would happen if I went over and sat on [insert obstruction here]?” Of course, I know what would probably happen, so I never follow through. But still…I gotta wonder…


Um, yeah. So how’s about Rule #9? Like everyone else, I’m not sure how to interpret it. So I’ll offer a few “bests.”

Most viewed post overall: 151 problems (and I’m not talking about Bacardi)

Most viewed post of 2017 (so far): Totally 80s: Pegged jeans

My most commented/liked post: Galaga and Greatness

Personal fav post: You made me promises, promises, you knew you’d never keep…

Personal fav post on another site: My personal plea to those in the game industry


So, I’m afraid that the buck has to stop here, because I’m low on time and feelings. No, really…our bathroom renovation has turned into an after-removing-the-drywall-we-discovered-dusty/decaying/disgusting-insulation-that-now-needs-to-be-replaced project, so my head is in a complete fog, and will likely be until we get past this whole insulation nightmare. Y’know, it almost would have been more comforting to have found absolutely no insulation in the walls, because the shit we’re having to clean up now is straight-up fucked. Even with safety masks, gloves, glasses, and long showers after each cleaning session, I’m still incredibly bleary and super itchy. And I’m sorry for complaining, but it’s about all that’s on my mind now; there’s still lots of cleaning to do. When I had a break the other day, I tried to play some Mass Effect: Andromeda, and I just kept marveling at how clean Tempest looked. It wasn’t a very productive session.

Ahem.

Thank you again to Falcon Game Reviews for passing along the Mystery Blogger Award! We now return you to your regularly scheduled gaming blogosphere.

5 thoughts on “The Mystery Blogger Award is no mystery!”

  1. Thank you so much for the kind words!

    I can totally relate to your answer for question 3 by the way. I myself have only recently had my college graduation (still have one more semester though), after 12 years of attending on and off again. The feeling of walking across that stage was nearly euphoric. I’m glad that your husband finished!

    And trust me, I’ve had far more psychotic thoughts, like imagining myself pummeling a customer in the face as they yell at me over something trivial…

    I’ll have to look at your other posts here soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, and you’re welcome. 🙂 It took my husband a little over a decade to complete school, but he did it, and that’s all that matters; so congrats to you on that account as well!

      Can’t say I’ve ever harbored thoughts of doing bodily harm to a stranger, though, at the grocery store, I often get the inkling to ram my cart into slowpokes. I mean, how long does it take to pick out a bag of chips, anyway?!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on your award! Wow, what a bunch of great answers! Random thoughts: Congrats to your husband! I don’t like uggs either. Completing things is the best. Even better when I can reward myself afterward!

    Liked by 2 people

Start a conversation

