Getting to Know Me

As I attempt to reshape the voice of my blog, opening up a little more has become one of my goals. So when I saw this “getting to know me” challenge over on The Indecisive Eejit (great blog, lovely blogger – do follow!), I took it as the perfect opportunity to work towards that goal. I think I’m supposed to tag people or something, but that seems awfully irrelevant. If you want to take the questionnaire, then by all means, go for it! I’m not your mother.


1. Who are you named after?

Cary Grant, or so legend has it. (“Legend” being my mother.)


2. Do you like your handwriting?

Sometimes. When I take my time and have a decent writing utensil in hand, I think I have pretty good handwriting. But regularly, it’s mostly a grade or two above “completely illegible.”


3. What is your favorite lunch meat?

Uh, does cheese count? (When I used to eat meat, probably ham. There was a time when I really enjoyed a good ham and cheese sandwich.)


4. Longest relationship?

That’d be the one with my husband. We met in 1997, and the rest, as they say, is history. (Really like history. Do you remember what the world was like in 1997? Feels like hundreds of years ago.)


5. Do you still have your tonsils?

As far as I know, yes.


6. Would you bungee jump?

Only if it was required as part of a dashing escape plan from a dastardly villain. Otherwise, hell no.


7. Do you untie your shoes when you take them off?

Boots, yes. Sneakers, no. And I’m always in a huff when I have to untie them to put them back on, too.


8. Favorite ice cream?

Mint chocolate. Don’t care if it’s white or green. (Unless it’s neon green. That’s unnatural.)


9. What is the first thing you notice about people?

Hair or hairstyle. I used to be big on coloring my hair and styling it all kinds of crazy. Now, I don’t give a crap about it, but I am interested in what other people do with theirs.


10. Football or baseball?

Football, I guess? That might be blasphemy since I was brought up in a baseball household and spent a significant portion of my life following the sport. Nowadays, it just doesn’t hold my interest. But I can make my way though a football game with minimal effort. (Same goes for football video games.)


11. What color pants are you wearing?

Brown, with gray pinstrips. (I might be at work…)


12. Last thing you ate?

Roasted cashews. Damn if they aren’t like the creamy dessert of the nut world.


13. If you were a crayon what color would you be?

Violet. That was always my most favorite shade from the ol’ Crayola box.


14. Favorite smell?

The one that arises whenever I cook my cornbread and sage stuffing around the holidays. It’s really savory and cozy.


15. Who was the last person you spoke to on the phone?

My husband. He and my parents are literally the only people I regularly converse with that way anymore.


16. Hair color?

Brown, with gray pinstripes. (And no, I’m not wearing my pants on my head…unfortunately.)


17. Eye color?

I think they’re kind of a greenish-gray. So…”snot.” Is that a color?


18. Favorite foods to eat?

Anything over rice. Beans and salsa, stir-fry, curry. Just slap some (vegetarian) shit over some well-made jasmine rice, and I’m good to go.


19. Scary movies or happy endings?

Happy endings. I really don’t like it when movies leave things depressed, open-ended, or “up to the viewers to decide!” If I must waste two hours with a movie, I want a pleasant sense of closure at the end, dammit.


20. Last movie you watched?

What We Do in the Shadows. First time viewing. I didn’t find it as spectacularly hilarious as people made it out to be, but it was quite good. (Witty, well-paced, slightly surreal fare from the Flight of the Conchords crowd.)


21. Favorite holiday?

Thanksgiving. As my family has grown and departed and evolved, Thanksgiving is the one holiday where everyone makes an concerted effort to get together. I like that.


22. Beer or wine?

How about yuck and yuckier? If I liquor, it must be hard.


23. Night owl or early bird?

Early bird, no question. Most nights, I’m out by 10pm, if not earlier.


24. Favorite day of the week?

Well, it varies depending on life at any given moment, but today I’ll say Thursday. Which sounds weird, I know. But it’s the one day of the week where I don’t have anything extracurricular in my schedule. I just go to work and come home — there’s nothing else before or after that needs my attention.


 

13 thoughts on “Getting to Know Me”

  1. This is really fun! It also has your usual sense of humor, which I love about your writing. ๐Ÿ˜€ And yay for mint chip ice cream! It has been my #1 fave since forever. Technically, I like all ice cream flavors for the most part, but mint chip is my jam. This may sound weird, but pairing mint chip with a slice of homemade apple pie is heaven. Vanilla is good too, but mint chip…ugh, so good! Okay, I’ll stop gushing now. ๐Ÿ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, thanks! I’ve honestly never thought to pair mint chocolate ice cream with anything, except maybe brownies…apple pie does sound strange, but I’ll have to try it! I can kind of see how it might taste refreshing, in a way. But there’s nothing like mint ice cream, especially on a hot summer day. Just the best! (And now I want some…of course. ๐Ÿ˜„)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a fun post! It’s nice getting to know you more Cary. What a great goal to have! Also, how awesome that you’ve known your husband since 1997! That’s 20 years this year! Well done, you two! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, shucks…thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚ It is kind of hard to believe that 1997 was 20 years ago. We’ve had a good run so far, so I guess we’re doing something right? (Some days, it’s hard to tell, haha.)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This was really fun to read! Opening up is a really great goal to have, and seeing little snippets of someone’s life like this is always really interesting. I’m jealous of your “snot” eyes. Mine are the brownest of brown with no flair or fun whatsoever. I’m also glad to hear you aren’t wearing pants on your head. That only happened to me one time when I was very tired and trying to get dressed in the dark.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can honestly say that I’ve never tried to nor accidentally put on a pair of pants like a shirt. Though I did once try to put on a shirt like pants. It didn’t go very well, for me or the shirt. And I might have been drunk. …maybe.

      And brown eyes are lovely! My husband has a nice set himself. Strangely, brown eyes run in my family, but it’s one trait I didn’t seem to inherit.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post! The pants on the head made me laugh as well. Thankfully, I’m sitting at home waking up for the day, so it’s all good.
    And I hear you about the 10pm thing.

    Like

  5. I’m glad to have this a go. It’s nice to find out more about you. I did laugh snort about the trousers on the head, I’m not thanking you for that, I’m on a full train lol
    One question that was missing from that list for both of us, favourite video game. Mine, Final Fantasy VII, you?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good point, there! Mine’s Super Metroid. Truly a classic!

      This was fun to do :), so I’m glad I stumbled across it. It feels good to open up a bit, and a challenge like this one makes it feel natural rather than heavy-handed.

      Like

Start a conversation

