Love Always, Donuts

Like 100% of Americans (or, y’know, thereabouts), I harbor a slight problem with sugar. And the problem is that I like it…too much. Not enough to need medical attention, but more than I know I should. Compounding this issue is that I love baking. And I love baking things with sugar – from pies to cake to cookies to brownies. But because of my issues with sugar, which are pretty long-standing, I’d say that…hmmm…over the past four or five years, my baking efforts have nosedived. In a good way. I mean, if its not in the house, then we won’t eat it. You best believe me that if I make a batch of chocolate chip cookies on a Friday, they are gone by Monday. And that’s not good.

If there’s any silver-lining here, it’s that my baking skills remain rather limited. That’s mainly because I’m impatient in all the things. Who has the time to fold scone dough perfectly so that one’s scones turn out light and fluffy rather than hard, triangle-shaped rocks? Who has the time to watch the oven in order to prevent your brilliant white chocolate soufflé from deflating? Who has the time to mold, shape, and fry the most perfect of pillowy donuts?

I know I don’t. But let’s keep talking about donuts.

It is a very good thing that I don’t know how to make donuts, because of Every. Single. Dessert. known to man, donuts top my list of all-time favorites. Yep. You can keep your flaky pie crusts and your butter-rich cake pops and your curds and custards. Donuts are the best for three simple reasons:

  • They are essentially fried bread; “fried” and “bread” are awesome.
  • They come in the perfect, single-sized serving (usually).
  • They come in a dazzling array of imaginative flavors.

Granted, these three clarifiers could be applied to any number of desserts, but they are at their most suitable when applied to donuts. Because donuts rule, plain and simple. (Yes, even the plain and simple donuts.)

Now, you might be thinking, “woman, if you know baking, then you know that A LOT can go wrong with donuts.” This is very true. I have had terrible donuts. No donut should weigh more than a can of soda, and no donut should be so greasy that it seeps through a stack of napkins. I have had these donuts, and they are terrible. No good. Very bad. Yes, donuts are really easy to get wrong. And that’s why, when you get a good donut…a really, really, really good donut…it’s pure joy.

As I said, it’s good that I don’t know how to make donuts, but it’s even better than I live in an area that’s not replete with donut shops.  In my neck of the woods, chain shop donuts are most prominent, with Dunkin Donuts, 7-11, Wawa, and Krispy Kreme being the most populous. (Where I work, I am within walking distance of twelve Dunkin Donut shops. No lie; I counted.) I’ve had donuts from these spots: Dunkin makes a pretty good cruller; 7-11 actually has tasty apple fritters; Wawa has a great chocolate covered cake donut; and Krispy Kreme…well, you can go wrong with a fresh, hot-now glazed. But all these donuts are middling when compared to the pinnacle of donut-dom…the apex of fried, sugary bread…the most indulgent of hedonistic desserts!

Amish donuts.

If you’ve ever had the pleasure of visiting an Amish market, you know that the Amish know fresh food and woodworking. If I was into carpentry, this might have been a very different post. But I’m not (I’m sure you’re pleased), so food is where it’s at. And specifically, fresh bread. I know how to make bread, and I think I make pretty good bread from time to time, but Amish breads live in a realm far beyond my culinary skills. By extension, Amish donuts are also a world apart from anything a chain donut shop could ever hope to offer. Far and away, it’s the actual dough that makes the donuts perfect. Their yeast donuts are layered, light, chewy, airy, and lightly brittle on the edges. Outside of toppings and filling, they aren’t very sweet either. And they are never, ever greasy. The same un-sweetness goes for their cake donuts as well, which are also light and airy, but still dense enough to be called a “cake” donut. They have a brilliantly full mouth-feel, and the best have a crispy but not cracker-y exterior. I will admit that greasiness can be a problem with the cake donuts, and fritters by extension. Personally, I tend to steer away from these varieties because of it, but I don’t necessarily believe it’s a widespread issue.  (And truly, Amish apple fritters, even if slightly greasy, are probably as close to heaven as I’m ever going to get.)

As much as I enjoy donuts, I don’t eat them very often. (Truthfully, I can’t, otherwise, I’d really be in trouble.) Whenever the craving strikes, it’s only the Amish donuts that make the grade. And even then, they are only a sporadic indulgence. Maybe someday I’ll take the time to learn how to make donuts for myself. Until that day comes, I’ll stick to what I know and what other people make.

Yes, love always, donuts.

18 thoughts on “Love Always, Donuts”

    1. Oh no! Apologies there, but thanks. 🙂 Stay strong!

      The reason I wrote this post was because I’m struggling again with sugar after promising myself that I was really going to try to get my eating habits in shape this year. It was cathartic in a way, and reminded me that if I’m going to give in, I should only give into the best of the best!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. A few years back, I overhauled my lifestyle completely. It was the hardest thing I ever did, but now processed sugar is virtually eliminated from my diet ( I do have the odd treats once in a while), and I’ve surprisingly turned into an exercise fanatic, lol. Good luck with your goals!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I had an apple fritter today from Tim Hortons and it was really, really good. Anything with cinnamon and raisins is a good thing! I think I bought some summer sausage from some local Mennonites one time and it was some of the best I’d tried. I’m looking forward to some summer festivals in my area just for that reason!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I don’t know if I’ve ever heard of Tim Hortons. I may have to look to see if there’s one in my area…curious now…

      I really don’t think the Amish can do wrong by food — everything I’ve gotten from their markets has been the best of the best. We also have a local one that opens in May, and it runs just through the summer. It’s always an great spot to visit. Even if the stands with sweet stuff are always packed!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Tim Hortons is super popular in Canada. There’s at least two in most cities, if not more! They’re akin to your usual coffee and doughnut shop chain store.

        You’ll have to get to that market super early to get all the best sweets I suppose! One of the best things I’ve tried is honey from the prairies. We got a huge container as a gift from some friends that came to visit from out that way and I could eat the stuff with a spoon it’s so tasty.

        Liked by 2 people

        1. That’s cool, and I found out that we have one here…looks to be on the outskirts of the city. Might have to make a special trek!

          That honey sounds quite delicious. Beekeeping is a popular thing round these parts, so it’s easy to get your hands on fresh honey of all varieties. There’s nothing like a great specialty honey to brighten up a cup of tea. Yum!

          Liked by 1 person

Start a conversation

