Back together at last…Metallica and Lady Gaga!

Guys, guys…GUYS! Did you catch the Metallica/Lady Gaga performance from the Grammy’s? Um…I didn’t at the time, because (1) meh…The Grammy’s, and (2) The Walking Dead (which is nowhere near as good as it once was but I’m in too way deep to give up on it now). But! Thanks to the Internet, I finally saw it. And I gotta say…

HOLY HELLFIRE AND FISHNETS!

And despite the sound problems that occurred, I mean that in the nicest way possible.

(Haters gon’ hate, btw. I’m sure that this performance had many up in arms. And, y’know, Metallica is polarizing, generally.)

(Quick now, before the video gets taken down! Pretty sure this is one dude’s recording [as you can hear said dude in the background] that keeps getting circulated around through various “users.” C’mon CBS, just put the damn performances online already!)

Now, you know that I like me some Metallica. And I have been suitably jazzed by their latest album, Hardwired…to Self-Destruct, which is so glorious in heart-pounding, head-mashing thrash. Ah, how it warms the very cockles of my heart to see these guys take back their spot in old-school metaldom in such a ball-to-the-walls manner.

And my husband agrees with me. So when we both heard prior that Lady Gaga would be performing “Moth into Flame” with the heralded band during the Grammy’s, we wondered what that would mean. In my head I saw something akin to a mash-up,  a performance that somehow smashed together metal and pop. Something like Wax Audio’s Lady Judas, which remains one of my all-time favorite mash-ups. He predicted that she would be even metal-er than the band. And we both worried a little that, because it’s the Grammy’s, things might venture a little either into the cheesier side of performance art or into the dreaded “safe zone.” But once those guitar riffs started, it was obvious that cheese was no where in site. And no one was safe.

And despite the issues with James Hetfield’s mic (for shame Grammy people!), both the band and Ms. Gaga looked like they were having the time of their lives. God, that was so good to see. Because with all the shit that’s going on in real life, it’s all the more fucking awesome to see people doing the things they love, and then having those things result in nothing but pure joy.

Now, on another note, I’m not sayin’ that Lady Gaga should make a metal album, but goddamn if she couldn’t. I don’t know that thrash quite suits her — with her deep set of pipes, she seems more in tune with the soaring sounds of Dio or Bruce Dickinson. Pure, grandiose heavy metal over something faster. But what the hell do I know? Nothing, really.


On a related note, here’s a video I recently stumbled across. It really wierded me out at first, but then, I got over myself. I had honestly never asked myself “what might Metallica sound like as a pop-punk band?” This guy provided the answer, and it doesn’t sound half bad.

 

4 thoughts on “Back together at last…Metallica and Lady Gaga!”

  1. when i heard the news i was intrigued to say the least. Despite the mic problems (cuz we know sh*t just happens) and them not getting a proper introduction, the performance was kick ass! I thought the band sounded cool, the fire was super awesome, and Lady Gaga’s verses sounded great, and loved seeing her run around head banging with everyone on stage, she fit in perfectly, despite the technical issues and intro for the band, this was great. I’ve read interview with Lar’s saying how organic this performance felt because it was literally him and Lady Gaga agreeing together to do this, and there was no need to get manamgement, laywers etc involved to make it happen, and it showed, everyone had a great time, except Jame’s of course :p

    We’ll definately see more of this as this isn’t the first time Metallica has done this type of thing on the Grammy’s, it was only a couple years back but Metallica had the performance of One with Lang Lang, and since did another performance with him recently in Beijing.

    If is wasn’t for this though, I probably wouldn’t have taken any interest in the grammy’s

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh man, I hadn’t heard of the Metallica/Lang Lang performance, so I had to check it out…it’s incredible! I love the part where Hetfield goes over to play by Lang Lang – super intense! Plus, One is just a really fantastic song. The addition the piano makes it all the more beefy.

      I’ve also read that it seems like Metallica and Lady Gaga might to more together in the future, and that’s pretty cool too. I do wish that their Grammy performance had gone better, but it’s not their fault. Who knows, maybe we’ll see them re-perform together on the Tonight Show, or something. I think the feedback about the performance has been more positive than negative, and that’s awesome.

      And if we see more performance like this on the Grammy’s in the future, maybe I’ll start watching them regularly!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have to say, Lady Gaga taming up with Metallica was the dumbest idea i ever heard….and they pulled it off perfectly. Literally my only issue was Gaga bouncing around all over the place. I get that shes rooted in pop and that’s normal of pop stars to do, but i found that to be really annoying. Other than that tho, i never would have expected to be as impressed as i was.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My thoughts exactly. Prior to watching, I kept thinking “please don’t be horrible!” And it wasn’t! I was also sure that she was going to break her ankles in those heels. She was a little too frenetic. As you said, guess that was her pop roots showing. I’m glad the performance didn’t get “grammyfied” as I heard that other acts paled in comparison.

      Liked by 1 person

Start a conversation

