Five on Shuffle, #1

Welcome to my new monthly (I think) series called “Five on Shuffle.” With the demise of my iTunes Diaries series, I wanted to re-inject this blog with a little musical flair, and also give myself good reason to use my poor, old iPod. Indeed, there once was a time when I was perfectly tethered to my iPod nearly 24/7. I’d create and kill playlists on a wing and a prayer, and I’d scoop up music faster than it could be added to ye olde iTunes. And while I’ve not completely abandoned my iPod, nowadays, with the likes of Pandora, Spotify, etc., it’s easy enough to get music anytime, anywhere without the little device taking up a pocket.

So here’s the deal (which I think I kind of explained already but maybe not in any exact terms): this year, I’m going to attempt to re-attach myself to my iPod, taking it with me wherever I go and, as the scary kicker, using it only on shuffle. Once a month I’m going to stop at a completely random interval, snap photos of five songs in a row, and then post and write about them here. The writing may be heavy or light, depending on whether or not I’ve anything remotely clever to say about any given song in the moment.

So…since I’ve nothing more interesting to say right now than that, let’s just get on the with first five random songs!


  1. The Ballad of John and Yoko – The Beatles

105balladofjohnandyoko

While I’m not an avid fan of The Beatles, I do like them well enough. The compilation album 1 is perfect for me, because it gives me all of their major hits without any further commitment. And that’s all I need. This particular song always reminds me of all those stories about how Yoko Ono “broke up the band.” And it’s quite catchy.


2. Under My Skin – Mudvayne

106mudvanye15

Once upon a time, iTunes didn’t contain every album in the known universe. I know, I know…it sounds crazy, but it’s true! When I first uploaded Mudvayne’s L.D. 50 album (oh so many years ago), the program didn’t recognize it. Yes, I could have gone back and manually entered in all the track names, but with this album I only got as far as entering in the band’s name and album title. Not that it matters, because I really only like the second track off this album [“Dig”]. The rest of the album is perfectly serviceable and remains a lovely shade of head-thumping rage.


3. Largo (from Xerxes) – George Frederic Handel

107handellargo

When you really want to relax (i.e. fall asleep), there’s nothing better to help with that than really slow organ music. This piece from Handel is apparently well known in organ circles (who knew!). And though it’s pretty, it’s is god-awfully slow. Though I mean that in a nice way, because it says it right there in the title…Largo (i.e. slow). If that wasn’t the case, it’d be titled something else, like Allegro, or something. There’s no denying that it lives up to its name perfectly.


4. Round About MidnightRichard Berry

108roundaboutmidnight

So this album represents one part of my admittedly poor attempt at answering my own personal call to be more “well rounded” in my music choices. A number of years back, I became highly interested in blues music, and I really wanted to add something from this historical genre to my iPod. I’m pretty sure that it was at a used music store that I came across this generically titled compilation set. Its contents proved to be anything but generic, thankfully. And you can’t even argue with Richard Berry’s silky, deep voice on this track. You can’t even!


5. Starman – David Bowie

109starman

Goddamn if this song…hell, this album just isn’t more poignant than ever. Love, love, love. And that is all.


So this is the gist of how these posts will go. Seems reasonable enough, yes? Do come on back next month when I feature another five songs on shuffle!

5 thoughts on “Five on Shuffle, #1”

  1. This is off subject, but….
    Torchlight.
    Canyondreaming was talking about games here:
    https://canyondreaming.wordpress.com/2017/01/26/the-joys-of-pen-and-ink/

    and in that article he just mentions Torchlight. Have you played it? If so, what do you think of it? I’ve got a steam account and am wondering if it a game to buy just to scratch my gaming itch a couple of times a year. I figured I’d ask you as you are just about the number one Game Person in my feed 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, you’re kind to ask, but I’m afraid I’ve not played Torchlight. Though I’ve only heard good things about it from others who have played it. It is beautiful graphics-wise, and it seems like a fun hack-and-slash/action-adventure game that offers up an enjoyable world to explore. I’m sure it’d be a sound addition to any Steam library, particularly if you happen to catch it when it’s on sale.

      Liked by 1 person

Start a conversation

