The Samsung Gear VR: One Small Step for Me, One Medium-Sized Leap into VR

VR is looking like it’s going to be the “next big thing” in gaming. I like the idea in theory, but I remain wary of it in practice. Recently, however, I tossed aside my concerns over motion sickness and vision problems to spend some quality time with a new toy (thanks to new phones): the Samsung Gear VR. After testing the VR waters am I ready to dive in? Only by checking out my United We Game article on the experience will you find out!

VIRTUAL BASTION

I’ve been warily curious about the resurgence of virtual reality and VR gaming ever since the announcement of the Oculus Rift. Well, here we are in 2016, and the world of VR has descended. Us regular folks can now get our hands on high-end VR gaming devices, such as the Oculus Rift itself, to lower end virtual reality devices, such as, in my case, the Samsung Gear VR. (Though the Gear VR is a Samsung-Oculus venture, so you get some Oculus benefits without the expensive headset.) When the opportunity arose to obtain a free Gear VR with the upgrade of my Samsung phone, I can’t exactly say I jumped at the chance. If anything, my only thought was “free is free, so why not!” Despite having watched countless hours of VR-related videos on YouTube in fascination, I honestly didn’t expect much from the Gear VR. Because really, how much…

View original post 1,366 more words

1 thought on “The Samsung Gear VR: One Small Step for Me, One Medium-Sized Leap into VR”

Start a conversation

