Top 5: Most Emotional Gaming Moments

There are games that challenge players as they attempt to get from point A to point B. There are games that challenge players to survive waves of multitudinous enemies. And then there are games that challenge players to connect emotionally with the events happening on-screen. Take what you will from my terrible oversimplification here, but when a game hits you right in all the feels, and sometimes unexpectedly so, it’s doing something right. This I discussed recently over on United We Game with this post, a rundown of some of my favorite emotional moments in gaming.

United We Game

Image by Flickr user Beautiful Games (CC)Image by Flickr user Beautiful Games (CC)

I’ve never been one to get overly demonstrative with my games, but I was recently reminded of just how powerful a single event in a game can be. Whether it’s a moment that makes you laugh, makes you cry, or makes you scream out in joy or anger, great games have them.  Sometimes our reactions to them are severely personal. Other times they reflect inclusiveness and a sense of community. What’s bringing out this list from me, now, is the Mass Effect trilogy, which I recently completed (yay!). While I had played the three games at the times of their releases, not until now had I played them back to back. While doing so didn’t change any of my sentiments towards the games (they are all-time favorites), it did change the way I viewed the story of my Commander Shepard. The…

View original post 959 more words

2 thoughts on “Top 5: Most Emotional Gaming Moments”

Start a conversation

