Play or Pass: Super Metroid

Welcome to the next post in my year-long series “Play or Pass” that takes on the proverbial “must before death” theme with video games. Every other week I will be covering one or two games from “32 Video Games You Have To Play Before You Die,” a list compiled by BuzzFeed based on a reader poll. I will not be critiquing the list itself, but rather I’ll be discussing each game or games in whatever manner feels fitting and will attempt to answer a couple simple questions: Have I played [insert game name here]? If yes, do I consider it a “must” and why? If no, do I want to play the game before I die? I’ll be going through the games in the order in which they appear on the BuzzFeed list. Good? Good. Let’s get on with the games!


Week fourteen: (18) Super Metroid

Super_Metroid_box_lg

So, it’s possible that I opted to phone in this post because I’ve written so much about Super Metroid over the years. Honestly, I don’t know that there’s anything left to say about it.

Question time! Yes?

Well…maybe.

Because as I was looking back over my compendium of blog posts (here and on United We Game and Geek Force Network) to see just how much Super Metroid had pervaded my writing, I realized it was more than I had thought. For me, it’s that game. It’s that game to which I knowingly and unknowingly compare every other game I’ve played, past or present. It’s that game that I will never tire of playing. It’s that game that made me realize just how great video games could be.

It’s that game.

It’s one of the first games that I ever blogged about: Saving the best for first: Super Metroid. (11/26/2011)

It’s the first game I ever wrote about for Geek Force Network: We need more etecoons and dachoras in games. (5/24/2013)

And despite my overarching love for the game, on United We Game I had to take a moment to question that feeling when playing other, modern, Metroidvania games like Guacamelee: If I were to play Super Metroid for the first time today, would I like it? (5/15/2014)

We all have that game. Maybe you’re is Super Metroid too. Or maybe it’s something different. We all need that game. That game that will forever be the one.

So, now it’s question time (because I literally have nothing more to say now.)

Have I played Super Metroid?
Yes.

If yes, do I consider it a “must” and why?
Yes. It’s perfect in almost all respects, from the gameplay to the design to the music to the story-less story. It’s the one game that I think everyone who plays games should try at least once in their lifetime.

If no, do I want to play the game before I die?
N/A

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Play or Pass: Super Metroid”

    1. It’s the one and only game I recommend that anyone play at least once. Totally worth experiencing even if it doesn’t click. If you do get it, I hope you enjoy it!

      Like

Start a conversation

