Rounding up Another Couple Liebster Awards!

Liebster

What goes around comes around, yes? Here in the blogosphere that often means passing around the likes blog “awards” to promote and connect with other folks who are also into this whole blogging thing. Recently, I was kindly given two such nods for the same prize, the Liebster Award, from James of Quickly Tap X and Ashley of Robo♥Beat. Many, many thanks are owed to both! If you’re not following them, you totally should be, especially if you like honest and entertaining writing about life and video games. Look, I’ll even link to them again in case you missed them the first time: Quickly Tap X; Robo♥Beat.

This isn’t my first Liebster rodeo, so let’s get on with the rules of said award. First, I must thank the good person or people who nominated me.  Done! (Nope, no more links. You’re an adult and should know how this whole Internet thing works by now.).

Second, I am to answer a set of questions proposed by the nominators. In this case, I have two sets, so let’s get to those answers!


Questions from Quickly Tap X:

  1. If you could have one superpower, what would it be?
    Flight. I know it’s clichéd, but having that ability would sooooo help with the work commute. Plus, I like capes.
  1. Most overrated video game you’ve played?
    The Stanley Parable. It’s an interesting diversion of a game, but it was way overhyped.
  1. Most underrated video game you’ve played?
    GTA: Chinatown Wars. I know it rated highly among critics, but I don’t think it ever got the attention among the masses that it deserved. Being a Nintendo DS property probably didn’t help in that regard.
  1. If you could have any job/career in the world, what would you choose?
    An historic clothing conservator. I was headed down that path long ago, until I realized how many more science classes I’d have to take to get the proper degree.
  1. Who’s your favorite Villain (book, game, TV or film)?
    Pennywise. And specifically, Tim Curry as Pennywise in the TV movie IT. Damn if he wasn’t just the worst. And the best.
  1. Tea or coffee?
    Coffee. (What is this “tea” that you speak of?)
  1. Favorite joke?
    Q. What do you get when you cross a rooster and a telephone pole?
    A. A 12-foot cock that wants to reach out and touch someone.
  1. Favorite album of all time?
    This changes all the time, but today I’ll say the soundtrack to Labyrinth. (Reminds me that I should do a “desert island” music post someday…)
  1. If you could only eat one food/meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?
    And sort of meatless taco salad: chips, salsa, beans, cheese, lettuce. Mmmmm…kinda want one now…
  1. What’s the best advice you’d give to anybody who’s thinking of starting a blog and/or is just starting out, and/or might be struggling with it all (asking for a friend!)?
    Work to find a balance between writing and realism. I know it sounds glib, but honestly, the more you write, the better you’ll become at it, and the more you’ll want to blog. At the same time, you have to be honest to yourself about what you’re able to accomplish. Pace yourself, be true in your writing, and remain grounded. Blogging will follow, and so will your readers.

Questions from Robo♥beat:

  1. How did you get started blogging?
    At the risk of quoting myself:

RoP is my first personal blog,  but in 2009, my department at work started a blog, and I became one of its designated writers — this was my first foray into blogging. I found that writing online about specific topics was not so bad. We received a lot of positive feedback, and I thought that maybe, just maybe, I’d start my own blog. Not about me, but about something.  Well, I sat on the “my blog” idea for a long time — how it would look, what I’d write about — but never followed through. Then a year ago, that Skyward Sword commercial made a synapse fire the wrong way or something, and that was that. I went to the computer and started typing.  And then I went to WordPress because I was familiar with it from work, and…voila! Recollections of Play was born.

  1. What’s your favorite thing about blogging?
    As much as I love writing, I think connecting with other bloggers is what’s made me stick with this for as long as I have. It’s great being part of this community what we have going on here, cultivating it, and watching it evolve and grow.
  1. What’s your favorite hobby outside of blogging?
    Depends on the season. In the spring and summer: gardening. In the fall and winter: knitting and crocheting.
  1. Favorite movie?
    O Brother, Where Art Thou? I just love absolutely everything about it.
  1. Favorite video game?
    Super Metroid, a brilliant classic.
  1. Game you’ve never finished and why?
    So many. But Little Big Planet comes to mind. Years ago I simply couldn’t get past The Bunker level.  And then our old PS3 died, and all the LBP save data when with it. It’s back in the backlog now. Someday, maybe, right?
  1. Star Wars or Star Trek (or both)?
    Star Wars, because it was the first movie that ever I saw in the theatre. (Return of the Jedi, that is.)
  1. DC or Marvel (or both)?
    No preference. I grew up with both – from the old Batman and Incredible Hulk TV shows to the Spider-Man and Justice League cartoons of the 80s. I enjoy the superhero genre, no matter the particular universe.
  1. What’s your greatest gaming accomplishment?
    Of the past: getting all 120 stars in Super Mario 64 remains a high point. Of the present: completing Xenoblade Chronicles. Such an amazing beast of a game.
  1. What’s your current obsession (a TV show, a video game, a topic)?
    Saints Row. I completed Saints Row IV earlier this year, and I l-o-v-e-d- it! I’ve been slowly working through Saints Row 2 and hope to complete it and Saints Row the Third. In the meantime, I’ve been regularly watching playthroughs of the original Saints Row. Honestly, if that game had been on my radar instead of the original Mass Effect, my recent gaming past might have taken a very different turn. The Saints Row universe is over-the-top, salaciously wonderful, ridiculously entertaining, and even, at times, mildly heartwrenching. It’s my everything right now.
  1. Do you have any other social media accounts we can follow?
    You can follow me on Twitter or give a like on my Facebook page, but bear in mind that I’m mostly anti-social on social media.

The third part of award this involves nominations, and more questions, in that I must provide my nomiees with a list of questions that they may chose to answer or ignore (this is Murica, after all). As the Liebster Award is all about discovering new blogs, I hereby nominate the following blogs and bloggers that I recently discovered myself.

The Maximum Utmost
The Well-Red Mage
HeavyMachineGames
Shiny New Gamer
Gamer’s Home Blog
(no longer) pick3d last
Mr. Panda’s Video Game Reviews
I ❤ Old Games!
Games Revisited
Watch Game Read
That Red Panda plays some games

As for my questions, and for the purpose of simply breaking the ice, I’m going to keep things simple and game-centric:

  1. What game(s) are you currently playing?
  2. Currently owned consoles or gaming devices?
  3. Favorite developer of the past or present?
  4. Who in the games industry, living or not, would you most like to meet?
  5. Which do you prefer most: multiplayer or single player?
  6. Have you attended any gaming conventions, or, if not, which ones would you most like to attend?
  7. What game of the past would you most like to see re-made/re-imagined today?
  8. Most favorite game character?
  9. Least favorite game character?
  10. What one game would you most recommend to new players?
  11. What one game do you consider a must for any gamer?

My thanks again go out to James and Ashley for sending the Liebster Award my way. Happy blogging (and gaming), one and all!

18 thoughts on “Rounding up Another Couple Liebster Awards!”

  1. Thanks for the nomination!!! I posted just two days ago a thanksgiving post for my third award so I will wait a bit before posting another but I promise I’ll do it…by the way I would like to reply here to the questions:
    What game(s) are you currently playing? A lot of them, not only one; no game released after 1995 though…
    Currently owned consoles or gaming devices? NES, PC, PS1, PS2, Game&Watch (yes, Game&Watch!!!)
    Favorite developer of the past or present? LucasArts along with Apogee/3D Realms and id Software
    Who in the games industry, living or not, would you most like to meet? Sid Meier.
    Which do you prefer most: multiplayer or single player? Single player or at least two players. I’m not an online multiplayer man…
    Have you attended any gaming conventions, or, if not, which ones would you most like to attend? Unfortunately no…:(
    What game of the past would you most like to see re-made/re-imagined today? I don’t know, since usually when the reboot the old games they “improve” it with modern graphics, online features and stuff, so they denature them. Old games are great because they’re old.
    Most favorite game character? Hmmm, maybe Guybrush Threepwood? but it’s hard now, maybe if I had more time to think about all the games I played it would be easier…
    Least favorite game character? The dog from Duck Hunt.
    What one game would you most recommend to new players? Since my gaming experience ended up almost at the end of the 90’s I sould suggest only old games. I can say I loved Deus Ex and Half Life, talking about old style FPS but in this case I would have suggested also Doom 2 and Duke Nukem 3D (uh, can I change my anwer about the favourite video game character to Duke???)
    What one game do you consider a must for any gamer? A lot, sincerly, a lot. But it’s impossible to consider somebody a real gamer if he/she never tried Super Mario…
    (sorry for possible typos, I’m writing from my smartphone and my english in the morning it’s not REAL english…)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What Game & Watch do you own?? I had the Donkey Kong Jr. one ages ago, and I loved it! I can still hears the sounds it made as that little monkey went “swinging” across those vines…

      Also, I soooo have to play The Secret of Monkey Island someday, and DOOM/DOOM2 are the only shooters for me. 🙂

      Congrats to on on these multiple “award nominations.” I know they’re a tad silly, but it’s a fun way to interact with folks. And hopefully it brings more eyes to this game blogging community generally. We’ve got a pretty good thing going on here!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey, there’s nothing wrong with going with the obvious superpower.

    I agree with The Stanley Parable being overrated. It’s an interesting conversation piece while it lasts, but it’s a very one-dimensional experience; it’s as though the creator only just grasped the idea of medium-specific storytelling and implemented the concept for its own sake rather than organically developing a narrative using the idea. I hate to pull the “original and still the best” card, but I feel that many of the tropes it explores were more expertly implemented in Metal Gear Solid 2 (or if nothing else it’s much more fun). Seeing a playthrough of the creator’s latest effort, The Beginner’s Guide, seems to suggest that he’s the indie game crowd equivalent of Neill Blomkamp – they’re unwilling to stray from what they know, thus coming across as one-trick ponies. On top of all that, a certain indie game released last year systematically surpassed The Stanley Parable in every possible way, making it even less likely for me to recommend playing it. I’m not sure if I’d quite consider it the most overrated game of all time, but it would definitely be in the top five.

    Super Metroid may not be my favorite game in the series (it ranks 3rd), but it’s undeniably a classic. It really goes to show how strong the franchise is – that the third-best installment is still better than the pinnacle of certain other series.

    I found I was never able to finish Little Big Planet either. I have even less of an excuse than you – I just got bored; it didn’t seem like a particularly great platformer. Maybe I’m missing something.

    Getting all the stars in a Mario game is always an awesome feeling. I’ve only managed to do it in Super Mario 64 and Super Mario Galaxy 2 so far.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like your take on The Stanley Parable, and I really can’t recommend it to anyone either. I almost wish that I had played the game sight unseen and sound unheard — you just couldn’t escape it in 2011/2012. Not that that would have necessarily changed my opinion of it, but at least I wouldn’t have gone into the thing thinking it was some sort of life-altering experience that would change the way I saw games. (This was really when my attitude became much more skeptical towards professional gaming reviews.)

      Beyond that, I would like a clue about this “certain indie game” from last year…? Seems I might have missed something…

      Like

      1. Somehow, I remained completely unaware of its existence until late 2013 when I bought the HD edition. I heard that it was best to go into The Stanley Parable completely blind, and that’s usually a sign of an interesting game, but it ended up being one of the biggest disappointments I’ve ever experienced.

        I think a problem many critics have, irrespective of their chosen field, is that they seem to latch onto a work solely because it’s unique. I can sort of see why that would be; after all, anyone who watches a lot of films would only remember the ones that stood out in any way, ignoring the ones that may not be original, but are well-made and hit all the right notes. After having played games such as The Stanley Parable, Mother 3, and Metroid: Other M, I can safely say that just because a work is unique, that doesn’t automatically mean it’s good. Meanwhile, I’ve played games such as Uncharted 2 and BioShock: Infinite that weren’t exactly what most people would call innovative, yet provided much more satisfying experiences. As an aside, I kind of think that the reason critics promoted the 2013 HD version of The Stanley Parable as much as they did was to make their industry seem more on-the-ball after Call of Duty: Ghosts and Aliens: Colonial Marines spent an inordinately long time in the spotlight.

        I was interested in checking this “certain indie game” out. When I saw it secure a dark horse victory in the “Best. Game. Ever.” tournament held on GameFAQs last year, I became even more interested.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Aha! I know what “indie game” you mean now. Not played it yet, but I think it’s on a wishlist somewhere…

          Also, caught a typo in my initial response — the years should have read 2012/2013. Late 2012 was when I first heard of this platform called “Steam,” and it was mostly because of The Stanley Parable (and Dear Esther, which I’v not payed), because so many sites I followed were buzzing about it. Things overflowed in 2013 when it ended up on so many GOTY lists. Y’know, it’s perfectly great when developers take leaps of faith with their creations as they try to bring something to the table that players have never seen before, but you’re right, just because something is a true departure from the norm, it doesn’t automatically make it brilliant. Still, The Stanley Parable was a game that got people talking — hell, I even bought it for full price because of all the implied specialness. No regrets, because you can’t win ’em, all.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations on another Liebster Award! You deserve all the awards you’re getting! Thanks so much for nominating me! I made a previous post about the Liebster Award so if it’s okay, I’ll just post my answers to your questions right here!

    What game(s) are you currently playing? Monster Hunter Generations, Pokemon GO, God Eater Resurrection, Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE (most of these are long so I’m making very little progress in any game, haha).
    Currently owned consoles or gaming devices? Wii U, 3DS, PS4, Xbox 360, and pretty much every Nintendo and Sony console from previous generations.
    Favorite developer of the past or present? Nintendo
    Who in the games industry, living or not, would you most like to meet? Shigeru Miyamoto
    Which do you prefer most: multiplayer or single player? Single player
    Have you attended any gaming conventions, or, if not, which ones would you most like to attend? I haven’t attended any purely gaming conventions, but I would most like to attend E3 and PAX.
    What game of the past would you most like to see re-made/re-imagined today? The Legend of Zelda (NES)
    Most favorite game character? Link
    Least favorite game character? This is hard. I’ll go with Lanky Kong, but I’m sure I hate someone more than him.
    What one game would you most recommend to new players? Super Mario World
    What one game do you consider a must for any gamer? The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time

    Thanks again! I appreciate it! And cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Great answers, all around! I know these “awards” tend to get around easily, so it’s hard to find folks who haven’t been nominated before. But more blog love is a good thing, always! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Start a conversation

