Play or Pass: Minecraft

Welcome to the next post in my year-long series “Play or Pass” that takes on the proverbial “must before death” theme with video games. Every other week I will be covering one or two games from “32 Video Games You Have To Play Before You Die,” a list compiled by BuzzFeed based on a reader poll. I will not be critiquing the list itself, but rather I’ll be discussing each game or games in whatever manner feels fitting and will attempt to answer a couple simple questions: Have I played [insert game name here]? If yes, do I consider it a “must” and why? If no, do I want to play the game before I die? I’ll be going through the games in the order in which they appear on the BuzzFeed list. Good? Good. Let’s get on with the games!


Week nine: (12) Minecraft

minecraft-Magazine-INED21

I am legitimately not sure what to say about Minecraft. Sure, I know some things about it, like:

  • It exists.
  • It’s extremely popular.
  • It’s a procedurally generated game.
  • You can’t click in any direction on YouTube without seeing a Minecraft video.
  • Young people play it and can’t stop playing it.
  • Old people play it and can’t stop playing it.
  • Some people play only Minecraft.

I also know:

  • Minecraft can function as a gateway into gaming.
  • Minecraft has been used as an educational tool and, likely, a corporate one as well.
  • Minecraft is a lifestyle, for some.
  • Minecraft has evolved into a pop culture phenomenon, and it shows no signs of stopping.
  • Minecraft, is some form, will probably always be from now into the future.

One of the purposes of my “Play or Pass” series is solely personal, as I take a hard look at a teensy sliver of notable games and ask myself if they truly are important enough for me to play at some point during the rest of my lifetime. And, by extension, ask if those that I’ve not played are worth my time. When it comes to Minecraft, I just don’t know if it is.

Believe it or not, I actually played…err, tried to play Minecraft a few years ago on my then-brand new Kindle Fire. I think I kept it – Minecraft: Pocket Edition – for around a month before deciding it just wasn’t for me. (During that month I don’t think I played it more than a half-dozen times.) Maybe it was the interface. Maybe I just didn’t invest myself in the game enough. Maybe it was the first-person perspective. Mostly, though, I just didn’t “get” it.

At the time (this would have been…what…2012?) I didn’t understand the appeal of aimlessly exploring and building. And I really didn’t understand the phrase “procedurally generated.” (Funny that, considering my history with the genre actually goes back to Rogue: The Adventure Game.  Honestly, it probably wasn’t until 2008’s Spore that I heard the phrase used in regular gaming conversations.)  And I was also pretty terrible at game generally – keeping track of resources and even the act of building proved too difficult. (Like I said, maybe the tablet interface had something do with that.) I remember building myself a nice hole.  Yep, that hole. It was nice.

That said, I accept and respect Minecraft as a video game. The game probably has one of the most loyal followings of any game in recent memory. Plus, it’s apparently a game for everyone. Just not me. And I hope that everyone enjoys the hell outta it.

Have I played Minecraft?
No.

If yes, do I consider it a “must” and why?
I’m just not that compelled by it. If you are, I’d love to know why.

If no, do I want to play the game before I die?
Nah.

10 thoughts on “Play or Pass: Minecraft”

  1. I’m so glad I’m not the only one that thinks this, haha! People think I’m crazy for not getting Minecraft. I understand the appeal; it’s the power of creation. Creation is a beautiful thing!. If you love the game, go on with yo’ bad self! It’s just not for me.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Well said! Not ALL games are going to appeal to everyone, so if Minecraft is your thing, then great. And if not, that’s perfectly fine too. 🙂

      Like

  2. I have it for the 360 and I tried playing it too, but I sort of gave up on it? I might try again at some point, but I don’t know what it is. I think it might have been me finding the game largely boring. Wandering aimlessly trying to find useful tools to build a house and then avoiding those night creatures trying to kill you. It became sort of meh for me. It was like, what’s the point of this game? I think I at least understand why some might actually like this game if they’re into wandering around with no clear objective and building stuff for hours.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Games without goals can be really tough to get into. Or maybe that’s just my old ass talking, haha. Minecraft really does rely on players having both very active imaginations AND plenty of time to invest in creating their own worlds. That’s tough to come by when you’ve got plenty else in life to do!

      Like

    1. We’re in agreement there. I don’t have enough self-motivation for a game like Minecraft. It is pretty cool, though, to see what other people have created in the game.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Same here. My brother, a hard core player, didn’t like it, either. My cousin, who was 13 or 14 at that time, played it enthusiastically at first ( with her friend ) , but abandoned it after a few months.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. My niece was into it for awhile when she was younger. But now, not so much. It seems to be one of those games that, if you don’t get immediately hooked by it, it’s not going to something you play long-term.

      Like

Start a conversation

