This Blog in May 2016

If you’ve been following me here for any length of time, you’re likely aware that I’m kind of a stickler when it comes to this space. I like to make plans for the blog, and I like to follow through with them, almost, at times, to the point of breaking. Well, this month, things are breaking, um…have broken? Be toats broke? However you want to say it, it’s not a bad thing. In fact, it’s a very good thing for the real life me. You see, I was recently promoted at work, and I’m all kinds of thrilled and scared and uppity about it. Really though, it’s great! But it’s also, for the moment, very demanding. So I’ve had to place several things on the back burner, at least temporarily, and this blog is one of those things. Yes, it sucks balls, but I’m as serious as a heart attack about my career, so there. As such, I’m taking a sabbatical from new writing this month — there won’t be any new general ramblings, gaming posts, “Play or Pass” articles, or an iTunes diary.

To keep things here populated, I’ll continue my Monday reblogs, sharing old writings, and maybe I’ll even throw in a surprise if you’re really, really good. On Wednesdays, in place of new posts I will be sharing my playthrough of Sam & Max Hit the Road that I did for United We Game’s YouTube channel a couple months back. And I’ll still be around the blogosphere to interact and respond to comments/attempt to keep being friendly, just not as much or as often throughout the month. (Not that I’m exactly a social media butterfly these day.)

When I just typed and misspelled “friendly” there in the previous sentence, autocorrect wanted to change it to “frenzied.” I’m not one for portents, but…huh.

Anyway, my hope is that as I ease into my new role at work, I’ll be able to recapture moments of free time to write, or find new pockets of time to spend typing away, in order to come back full force again in June. Frankly, I’m just hoping to make it through May with my sanity in tact. It’s hard to think about June at the moment, but I remain…well, stupidly optimistic. It’s gonna be touch and go for awhile, but we’ll see how things go.

And, thanks, as always, for the support, the comments, and the many good feels. That all is good enough to keep me going. ๐Ÿ™‚


P. S. I’ve not provided a kitty pic in awhile. Dat Moose is doing well. He’s gonna turn 16 this year — oh, they grow up so fast.

mooseymoose

11 thoughts on “This Blog in May 2016”

    1. Much obliged! I hope I’m not too optimistic in gunning for June as a return (my general to-do list has grown by leaps and bounds in just a few days!), but we’ll see how things go. I promise that haven’t hung up my blogging hat yet! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thanks. I do appreciate that. ๐Ÿ™‚ If anything, I’ve been the victim of my own loyalty. The time to make a shift here was bound to happen sooner or later.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! The work/life thing is tough, especially when you’re when of those folks who thinks about games ALL THE TIME, haha. ๐Ÿ™‚ But, multitasking right now isn’t really an option. The focus is welcome, even it means putting hobbies on hold.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Congrats on your promotion, Cary! That’s really cool and I’m sure it’s very much deserved. ๐Ÿ˜€ I’ll certainly miss your presence as you settle into your new role at work, but I know you’ll be back once you get your bearings. It’ll certainly be a glorious return too! Good luck with everything. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! I’m happy to take on the new challenge at work, even if means re-prioritizing things somewhat. Then again, a break could be a good thing. Everyone needs one of those every now and again. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Start a conversation

