Dashing off some words about Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Seeing as how I used to be something of a serious Star Wars fanatic, I figured I owed it to posterity to say at least something about Star Wars: The Force Awakens, which I finally saw this past weekend. As if the world didn’t know, it’s now out on Blu-Ray. I don’t have much of an excuse for not seeing it in the theatres, but it seemed like every time we planned to go, something else came up. And then, eventually it was like, eh, we’ll wait till it comes out on Blu-Ray. And here we are.

star-wars-force-awakens-blu-ray-cover

Since my thoughts remain incoherent and in snippet form, I’ll just be doing this bullet-point style. It’s early. I don’t know where my coffee is. And I have, like, a million non-Star Wars things to do today, so off we go!

  • First off, I didn’t expect the nostalgic pangs to hit quite as hard as they did, because I found myself welling up more than once, and not because of the movie’s story, but because of the billion or so Star Wars-related memories that came flooding back as the movie’s opening scenes played. I knew that the series was an important part of my past. I didn’t see it as an important part my present and future until The Force Awakens.
  • Getting this out of the way early, BB-8 was just the best. Far and away my favorite character of the movie. I think I could have sat through two plus hours of watching that little droid simply interact with its surroundings. Well done there, Mr. Abrams.
  • I was astounded by how Star-Warsian the movie looked and felt emotionally. The Force Awakens paid tribute to its predecessors and yet surpassed them by leaps and bounds.
  • Still, its story played thing very close to the chest in terms of “desert kid rises up to save the galaxy from evil.” Now where have we heard that before…?
  • I did enjoy the cast’s overall chemistry, especially between Rey and Finn, and Ray, Fin, and Han Solo. Nicely done.
  • Tried my best to avoid spoilers these past four months, but I knew about Han Solo’s death. I didn’t know about Kylo Ren as Han and Leia’s son.
  • And I’m not really sure that I cared. I didn’t find Kylo Ren’s/Han and Leia’s story as compelling as Rey’s journey.
  • But it was sure nice seeing Han and Leia again. And even Luke in those final moments.
  • I loved that Abrams retained the editing style of the original trilogy with musical wipes in between scenes. Goofy as it sounds, that might be my second favorite thing about the movie overall, after BB-8. It just reads as classically “Star Wars.”
  • It was a little weird hearing so much of the original soundtrack attached to this new movie. Like, hearing the “Luke and Leia” theme over albeit touching scenes with Rey, that was a little weird. She should have had her own theme. (And maybe she did but I just didn’t notice. I would like very much to get the soundtrack.)
  • Kudos to making the Stormtroopers more human (since they are), even with the looming (and shiny!) Captain Phasma leading the ranks.
  • Didn’t care for the design of Kylo Ren’s shuttle. Sure, it’s all ominous and bird-like, but all I kept thinking was that it was missing its dorsal fin, so to speak, like with original Imperial shuttle.
  • Happy to see the Millennium Falcon in action, along with plenty of aging X-Wings, and spangly-new TIE Fighters!
  • The lumpy helmet design of the Resistance pilots – kinda ugly. They reminded me of something out of the ol’ Battlestar Galactica.
  • Also nice to see plenty of familiar faces, like Admiral Ackbar and Nien Nunb. Also, was that Mon Mothma I saw in the base on D’Qar? The figure I saw looked like her, but I might have been imagining things.
  • Starkiller Base! Probably the best homage to Star Wars’ heritage by using the name “Starkiller.” (Luke’s original last name before it was changed to the much less death-oriented “Skywalker.”)
  • I’d love to see Lando in the next movie. That’d be awesome, but, like super sad, y’know, because of Han and all.
  • Wow, now I can listen to all the Star Wars podcasts I avoided months ago.
  • And I think I definitely need a BB-8. Nothing fancy, just a little figure or something.
  • Um…sorry. Losing my train of thought…where was I…?
  • I’m sure I’m forgetting a ton of things I wanted to say but…where the hell’s my coffee??
  • Okay, I think that’s it.
  • COFFEECOFFEECOFFEE
  • Okay, you can quit with the bullets.
  • (Coffee)
  • Dude, seriously…

All in all, I supremely enjoyed Star Wars: The Force Awakens. It was a fine piece of action/fantasy/sorta-sci-fi cinema, an excellent “Star Wars” film, and I heartily look forward to the next installment. Also Rogue One, because that’s a thing. Also, also, the LEGO game, because surely that’ll be a thing too.

3 thoughts on “Dashing off some words about Star Wars: The Force Awakens”

  1. BB8 is cool. The design is so cool. How does the head manage to stick to the circular body?

    I had the Han moment spoiled too. Some dumbass blurted it out in a Youtube comment (the video had nothing to do with Star Wars.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Some sort of magnetic magic must keep that little droid together. The engineering mystery is part of what makes BB-8 so special.

      YouTube spoiled Han’s fate for me as well! Sometimes people should think more before they speak.

      Like

Start a conversation

