Red Dead Redemption: Second Time’s a Charm?

Well, this is awkward, right? Um, maybe. I mean, in my Red Dead Rant, I linked to this post I had written for United We Game and our “revisiting favorite games” project. So sharing it here retroactively seems okay. I guess the point is that I like Red Dead Redemption so much that I feel it could have been a better game in many respects, and I’m disappointed that it wasn’t. But I still enjoy the game immensely for what it is — a true masterpiece in gaming and study in time.

VIRTUAL BASTION

Image by Flickr user Jussi Mononen (CC) Image by Flickr user Jussi Mononen (CC)

At the beginning of 2013, I finally got around to playing Red Dead Redemption. We had rented to game some months earlier, and though it looked interesting at the time, I was too engrossed in other games to really take notice. But rather than just forget about RDR completely, I instead picked it up on sale around the holidays. It became one of the best decisions I’d ever made.

I loved Red Dead Redemption. Like, loved loved it. I called it one of my most favorite games of the Xbox 360/PS3/Wii generation. I loved its sights, sounds, and gameplay. I loved being in the “Old West” as modernity encroached. I loved taking the reigns as John Marston, ye gruff seeker of right in the face of wrong. I loved the game despite some glaring flaws, particularly with its endgame…

View original post 1,497 more words

1 thought on “Red Dead Redemption: Second Time’s a Charm?”

Start a conversation

