Mission Chrono Trigger: And…Scene

You guys, you guys, YOU GUYS!

I HAVE FINISHED CHRONO TRIGGER! LIKE, THE END AND EVERYTHING!

Okay, I’m done yelling. I was just kinda excited, because seriously, for awhile there, I thought I’d be playing this game until December. Believe you me, when I finally decided to battle Lavos after a bunch of stalling sidequesting, no one was more surprised than yours truly when THE END hit. And, just…wow about that. I don’t know if I’ve ever felt quite the same combination of joy/relief/sadness upon finishing a game as I did with Chrono Trigger. In truth, I’m sad to see it go but glad it’s over. For now anyway. I mean, multiple endings and all that. And I might as well get this out of the way first, but I apparently got typical ending #1. I did a bit of searching afterwards to find out more about all the different endings, and there are doozies, for sure. But I’m quite happy with the “normal” ending, even though it took about a zillion minutes to actually end. (Or maybe it was five. Who can say, really?)

If you’ve read any of my previous posts, you might expect one here that’s typically screenshot heavy. Well, I’m really going to try to cut things down with extreme diligence, because between my last post and now, I somehow managed to rack up 153 screenshots. I know. Insanity. There’s just no way, right? No, there’s literally isn’t. So we’re going to speed through my final hours with Chrono Trigger in pictures, and then I’ll leave with some parting thoughts.

After not beating Lavos the last time, I was a bit confused. But taking advice from a couple of commentors, I continued on from the End of Time to do some leveling up while searching for sidequests. Or rather, with the Epoch at my disposal, searching for formerly inaccessible or new-to-me spots in each time period. The first place I ended up was Ozzie’s Fort, where we finally did in that silly Ozzie one and for all. But not before the reveal of some some interesting history between Ozzie and Magus.

ct01meetingozzieagain
Oh Ozzie, surely you saw this coming?
ct02meetingozzieagain2
And what a sound it is.
ct02ameetingozzieagain3
What was that? Sorry, can’t hear very well out of my left ear.

With Ozzie dispatched (for good? Really, I have no idea.) I went on to find something else to do. That something else turned out to be a very wild hunt for something called the Rainbow Shell. The whole quest was quite convoluted as I ended up going back and forth between several different time periods. During this time, I ran back into a particularly rotten version of Black Tyranno called Rust Tyranno.

ct03rusttyrano
I really love this game’s animations. This one in the midst of a combined attack between Crono and Ayla is very creepy looking.

And then we ended up back in the present dealing with that crazy Chancellor.

I can't even.
I can’t even.

And then, after more fighting and questing and traveling (and getting lost a couple times), the gang finally found the Rainbow Shell.

Was it worth it? Sure. Got experience and cool items.
Was it worth it? Sure. Got experience and cool items.

With that task checked off, I ended up in the midst of finding the Sun Stone, a key item, and subsequently turned it into the Moon Stone.

ct06moonstone
I imagine you could turn this back into the Sun Stone by returning it to 65,000,000 B. C. But I don’t think I did. Maybe. Oh, how the memory already fails!

After that, I detoured off into 2300 A. D. because it seemed like a good idea. There I located the Geno Dome, which presented a heartfelt and tear-jerking quest all about Robo. It, of course, ended in a heady battle that seemed more difficult for me than it probably should have.

ct07roboheartbreak
Aw…Robo… 😥
ct08motherbrain
Not THE Mother Brain of Metroid fame, but okay.

It was at this point that I finally figured out that each non-Crono character had his or her own sidequest. Given that I had worked through quests involving Magus, Marle, Ayla, and Robo, it made sense that there had to be two left. The next one I stumbled across was Frog’s and his reunited, in a way, with his friend Cyrus.

ct09frogandcyrus
STEEEELLLLLLLAAAAAAAAA!

Hoo boy, and I thought Robo’s quest hit me right in the heartstrings! Frog and Cyrus might have brought a tear to my eye. Or maybe I had Pink Eye? WHO KNOWS?? Point is, this is a fucking awesome game.

I even changed the future a little. Planting a tree in the past produced a forest in the present.
I even changed the future a little. Planting a tree in the past produced a forest in the present.

Um…what was a I saying? Oh, sidequests, Frog’s was wonderfully wonderful. So that only left Lucca. I didn’t use Lucca much throughout the game, so I know I missed out on some of her great quips. But I’m really glad that I didn’t miss out on her sidequest that was both really, really sad (Oh, her poor mother! I didn’t act fast enough to save her.) and really, really happy in the friendship she developed with Robo.

ct11luccaandrobo
Aw…Robo…:’)

If I play through this game again, I’m taking Lucca and Robo along for the long haul, yessir.

Welp, there you go. Did I miss any sidequests? It didn’t matter then, because I was toatally ready to take on Lavos with my 50+ level team! I traveled my happy self to the apocalypse and gave Lavos everything Crono, Marle, and Ayla had!

ct12lavosfinal
And all I took was this lousy screenshot. /sadtrombone
ct13lavosdefeated
And this one. I swear it’s because my hands were shaking because NO MORE LAVOS!

And then, back in present times, there was a victory parade. Because the apocalypse had been thwarted…in the future? Wasn’t the “present” 1000 A.D.? Ahh, I’m just going to shut the hell up and enjoy the parade.

It was a long parade. Like, really, really long long.
It was a long parade. Like, really, really long long.

But the best and most sweet part of the ending was yet to come. Because as Crono remained in the future with Lucca and Marle, the rest of his cohorts had to go back to their own times, which resulted in a lovely montage featuring each in their rightful places.

Robo and his love in the far future.
Robo and his love in the far future.
Ayla (and Kino?) back in the far away past.
Ayla (and Kino?) back in the far away past.
Frog and Queen Leene look on from the Middle Ages.
Frog and Queen Leene look on from the Middle Ages.
And Magus returns to the Dark Ages.
And Magus returns to the Dark Ages.

With the story over, it was finally time to say goodbye.

ct19endend


I know that there are many classic, “must play” games that I will never get to, but I am insanely happy that Chrono Trigger is no longer on that list. While I’ve enjoyed a small fraction of JRPGs, and they provided unique experiences all their own, I can now see why Chrono Trigger is often placed on a pedestal higher than most. It’s a remarkably deep, highly enjoyable, and terribly simple game (in some respects) compared to its many, many, many descendants. Everything about the game is quite polished, from the really gorgeous graphics to the stylish gameplay. And how creatively the developers utilized the idea of time travel to imbue a game world with both vitality and pain, to give players the chance to change the very world in which they are playing. This without today’s trappings of the open world and multiple moralities. What a wonderful, wonderful game is Chrono Trigger.

My deepest thanks and utmost appreciation go out to everyone who came along with me on this journey, my second attempt at writing about my experience with a brand new game. Will there be a third? I’d like to think so, but I’m not sure. Chrono Trigger took me a bit longer than expected, and I need to regroup, talk a step back, and remember how to play games just for fun. (Writing about them in the moment is certainly fun too, but it’s a little taxing in the long run.) So all I can say now is maybe I’ll plan for another new project. And If I do come up with something new, you’ll be the first to know about it. Promise.

And because I can, here are the links to all the previous posts in this series. Here’s to one hell of a ride!

A New Year, A New Game Project
Your vote counts!
The results are in! And the winner is…
Beginning at the Beginning
Of Fake Queens and Real Frogs (With Swords)
Progress…I haz it?
Moving fast, playing faster
Is Ayla..a Cat…?
Forest Stops and Frog’s Tales
Kicking Ass and Riding the Weird Waves of Time
Mama Weer All Crazee Now
Getting Crono back, and getting back at Lavos

16 thoughts on “Mission Chrono Trigger: And…Scene”

  1. Wonderful end to a wonderful game, and a great series of posts too I might add! Really enjoyed reading these posts and getting the chance to re-experience the game through fresh eyes.

    Even though I don’t have any youth-associated nostalgia with this game (incidentally, Chrono Trigger was officially released for the first time in Europe as late as – get this – 2009!), it immediately struck a chord with me when I tried it, maybe two years ago now. Upon finishing it I seem to remember saying words to the effect of, “well that was a classic, I wish every game could be that good”.

    Also, as much as I enjoyed Chrono Trigger throughout, doing the sidequests you mention here (Lucca’s especially), fighting Lavos and the whole ending sequence… those were the parts that really cemented the game as a favourite, and they’ve stuck with me the most too since.

    Finally, have to give a shout out to the music that plays during that final sequence as the team say goodbye. Such a beautiful, nostalgic song and a real tear-jerker even listening to it out of context. In context… well, it’s best to not even go there 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, you’re right…that song. When you consider what the characters went through to get to the end, and what they came to learn about each other…I mean…it really doesn’t get any better than that. :’)

      Considering the mid 90s when Chrono Trigger first came out (though, whoa nelly — 2009 for you guys. That’s insane!), and the games I was into then, I doubt I would have gotten anything out of it, had I played it then. I barely had any experience with JRPGs. Though that seemed to not deter most, I’m glad to have waited until I understood the genre better. I think it helped me better understand the mechanics and follow the story better. This would have been a much different set of posts if I were replaying the game some 20 years later.

      (I’m playing a newish JRPG now called Brave Story: New Traveler, and it’s great, but shit if it isn’t the talkiest game I think I ever played! Waaaay too much exposition in text bubbles. Part of the true brilliance of Chrono Trigger is that it mostly speaks in actions and saves the words for when it really matters.)

      Anyway, I’m extremely happy to know that you and others enjoyed following along. I’ll have to poke around to see what might make a good next project. There are plenty of games out there that I’ve surely missed!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ha ha, yep, Chrono Trigger will make almost any other RPG look wordy by comparison! Paper Mario series, eat your heart out 🙂

        I’m with you, timing is important. I might’ve mentioned it before but I played CT on an emulator over ten years ago – so before it ever came out in Europe – played up to the prehistoric era section, wasn’t feeling it so moved on to something else. Don’t know why, just wasn’t ready for it at the time.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats Cary! I’m glad that you were able to get around to the sidequests, they just add so much you know? Now I just have two questions for you: What did you do with the Rainbow Shell, and which treasure did you pick from that black pyramid near Ozzie’s fort?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They really did, and I don’t think I could have finished the game without them!

      So…from the Rainbow Shell…or rather, from Melchoir and the shell, I opted to take the prism dress over the prism helms. I think there are other things you can do with the shell, yes? But I didn’t.

      As for a pyramid near Ozzie’s fort…? Huh, I must have missed it because I don’t remember making any extra stops in the region afterwards. I’ll have to look back through my screenshots. It’s possible I did and just forgot.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You can visit it in 1000AD and choose one treasure from inside it: a unique sword for Crono or a defense item.

        Prism Dress was a decent choice there too. I’ve played through the game a few times, and I’ve either chosen that, or the Rainbow katana for Crono (it’s his ultimate weapon). Which is better depends on how important the users of those items are to your main party I think.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Hmmm…the Rainbow Katana sound pretty cool. I started a new game plus that I’ve been checking into occasionally (passively not actively playing). I’ll have to keep that in mind when I eventually get back round to the Rainbow Shell quest.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats! I think when you first posted about your playthrough, I tried to slightly hint at the impending sidequests and how cool some of them are. They really make the characters that much cooler. Glad you enjoyed this classic!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I believe you’re correct there. 🙂 I’m so glad that I didn’t skip out on the sidequests! They were awesome and very helpful – can’t imagine that I’d have beaten Lavos as I did without gaining the extra stuff and experience.

      This game certainly made other, more modern RPGs pale in comparison. Maybe more people need to play Chrono Trigger, haha!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, much appreciated! I really hope to take on another “project” like this in the future, but it all depends on how the timing works out.

      Gonna be hard to find something that’s quite as wonderful as Chrono Trigger though… 😉

      Like

  4. Congrats on completing this game! Isn’t it nice when a work everyone has been raving about for several years not only ages well, but also completely lives up to the hype? That needs to happen more often, doesn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, yes, and yes! This would have been quite a different experience had Chrono Trigger turned out to be an all-around downer. Thankfully neither gamers nor game history was wrong in this case. Chrono Trigger is a true and immensely wonderful classic. And you’re right, it would be nice indeed if more games lived up to such a challenge. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Start a conversation

