The Choice: The Elgato Game Capture HD

We all have to make tough choices in life. Which college do I want to attend? Which job will provide me with the best experience? Which human being do I want to spend the rest of my life with? Which game capture system is right for me?

Um….

Okay, so maybe that’s a case of “one of these things is not like the other.” But when it came to me picking a game capture device, it really was a formidable (if not necessarily life-altering) decision. I recently covered this on United We Game in the post here. I then followed it up with two more posts (listed below) about actually using the device. All around, the Elgato was right for me. If you’re into game capturing, which device is right for you?
The Experience, Part 1: The Elgato Game Capture HD – Capturing from the PlayStation2 and GameCube
The Experience, Part 2: The Elgato Game Capture HD – Capturing from PC

VIRTUAL BASTION

Image by yours truly. ME! Image by yours truly. ME!

If you didn’t know it already, United We Game has now fully entered the gates of video production! Well…mostly fully. I mean, we’re trying our best given that we all have lives outside of UWG. Not that those are of any interest to anyone, so I digress.

A couple months back, The Duck of Indeed regaled us with a fantastic post about her own adventures in recording game play and making videos. Since I finally have a presence on UWG’s YT channel, I figured it was as good a time as any to amuse you with my own stories, which involve a different capture device: the Elgato Game Capture HD. This is a two-parter where here I’ll be answering of the question of “why the Elgato?” and next week I’ll answer the question “what’s it like using the Elgato?”

View original post 657 more words

Start a conversation

