Profiles part two: Me and only me

It’s a little strange allowing (for all intents and purposes) complete strangers to nose around one’s inner workings. Analyzing this statement too much almost made me not post the thing I posted two weeks back. Only then I remembered that my blog barely makes a mark in the scratch in a dent on the abused car door that is the Internet. That’s not to say that no one is reading, and that those lovely few aren’t allowed to be nosey when I crack open the mindtrip that is my subconscious. Rather, recalling RoP’s insignificance helps me push on when things here get weird and personal and uncomfortable. Therefore, I’m happy to present to 0.0000000000000001% of the interwebs this blog post, the second and slightly less drawn out partner to my results of Quantic Foundry’s Gaming Motivation Profile, to which you may link here.

In sum, I recently took two personality-type tests by Quantic FoundryGaming Motivation Profile and Personality: Big Five. In this post I’m covering the actual “personality” test, and the results surprised me more than most “personality” tests. Though any answers to personality tests are contingent upon one’s sensibilities in the here and now. I suspect that if I was on the same life track I was 20 years ago, the results would be quite different. But here’s where things stand in the here and now.

Your Personality Profile: Down-To-Earth, Spontaneous, Introverted, and Calm

chart (1)

******

Openness to Experience (33%)

People who score high on Openness are inquisitive and imaginative. They like to think about “what can be” instead of “what is”. They like to think deeply and play with abstract, unconventional ideas. They enjoy trying out new things and visiting new places. They are creative, and enjoy art and aesthetic experiences.

People who score low on Openness are practical and grounded. They are down-to-earth, traditional, and conventional. They are focused on facts and reality, and they prefer the routine and the familiar. They seek out the stability and security that comes from conforming to widely-shared, traditional values.

It’s true that I’m easily susceptible to getting stuck in a routine. (Frankly, having a routine is sometimes the only way I can actually get stuff done.) But I think I’m really open to some things, like trying a new restaurant or visiting a new museum. But I’ll admit that I’m probably not as adventurous as I was twenty years ago. I like the things that I like, and I’m willing to like new things, as long as those likeable things don’t upset my routine too much. Haha.

******

Conscientiousness (18%)

People who score high on Conscientiousness are organized and self-disciplined. They make plans and follow routines and schedules. They have a strong sense of duty and obligation. They work hard to achieve excellence and success. They are persistent, efficient, and reliable workers. They take their time to consider outcomes and alternatives when making decisions.

People who score low on Conscientiousness are spontaneous and flexible. They are adaptable and react well to unexpected situations and change. They find rules to be arbitrary and stifling, and don’t mind breaking them. They enjoy living life on a moment-to-moment basis, following their own whims, and often take leaps of faith to see what happens next.

I was, at first, ready to fight this score, because I don’t see myself as the fly-by-night, flaky type. But reading further into the results revealed “People with extreme low scores…are so easily distracted that they have trouble completing tasks at work or school.” Distraction is actually a huge problem for me. (While working on this post, I clicked over to a dozen other sites just because, heard a strange noise and had to go check on it, wondered where the cat was and went looking for him…so, yeah.) I’ve been called rude and aloof because my distracted thoughts often take me away from realizing the actions and feelings of others. This is where it’s interesting and humbling to take perception into account, because I often think I’m more conscientious than I am, which can be problematic sometimes.

******

Extraversion (1%)

People who score high on Extraversion like being around people and are energetic, enthusiastic, and active in their everyday lives. They like constantly being on the move, enjoy big parties and crowds, and crave excitement and sensory stimulation. They are cheerful, optimistic, and make friends easily. They like to speak out, take charge, and are natural leaders.

People who score low on Extraversion are quiet, low-key, and are perfectly happy spending time alone. They tend to be reserved in social situations and keep in the background. They prefer quiet, peaceful, and relaxed environments. Their typical mood and disposition is more subdued and neutral. They are slower to reach out to others and tend to have a small circle of close friends.

Okay, this one really made me go hmmm. At first I was like now hold the fuck on test…YOU DON’T KNOW ME. And then I was like yeah, you got me. Good one, test. My introversion/extroversion pendulum tends to swing in decade-long cycles. I have, for extended periods of time, been very, very social. And I have, for extended periods of time, been very, very unsocial. I guess I can’t argue with the score here because I am currently in a very, very unsocial period. That doesn’t mean I don’t like you, or her, or people in general. It just means that I value solitude above many other things right now. Having time alone recharges my ability to deal with the real world on a daily basis.

******

Agreeableness (64%)

People who score high on Agreeableness are sympathetic and compassionate. They value cooperation, social harmony, and assume that most people are fair and honest. They are naturally trusting and sincere in their dealings with other people. They are modest, dislike confrontation, and always willing to compromise to get along with others.

People who score low on Agreeableness tend to be objective and skeptical. They are vigilant about other people’s motivations and tend to be more guarded and strategic in their interactions with other people. They are direct in their communication style and don’t mind openly confronting or challenging others. They value truth, justice, and making objective judgments based on reason alone.

I can agree with this. …right? That’s being agreeable? Well, most of the “high score” description fits me to a tee, except when I’m being really stubborn. In fact, much of my childhood was driven by the word “ornery,” which my parents used frequently. I’m not sure where that trait came, and I try to keep it at bay (mostly), but rest assured, if you happen to be on the other side when it rears its ugly head, you won’t miss it.

******

Emotional Stability (75%)

People who score high on Emotional Stability are calm and relaxed even in stressful and anxiety-provoking situations. They are even-keeled, fearless, and remain poised and confident when under pressure. They are difficult to provoke and are able to easily resist urges and temptations.

People who score low on Emotional Stability are reactive and sensitive. They often worry about things, especially when under stress, and become nervous and tense. They are sensitive about what other people think of them, and are easily embarrassed or discouraged.

Yeah, I guess. I’m pretty good at keeping my head during bad times, but I wouldn’t, by any means, call myself “fearless.” The problem with being stable is that some I know I sometimes come of as robotic, almost uncaring. In my head I think I’m being calm and stalwart, but I know the emotions don’t always come across as such. But it’s very true that it takes a lot to get me really riled up. I hate myself when I get extremely overemotional, so I try hard to veer away from that in stressful situations at just about all costs. Most of the time I can, but sometimes, the Hulk just spews forth unabated. It’s an ugly scene.

******

Well, that’s about all of “me” I can stand, and I’m sure the same is true of anyone reading. Though thank you for reading, always. Personal reflection is necessary, and I’m actually pretty pleased that I felt comfortable enough airing things out here. This blogging community is good people, and I’m glad to be among it, if sometimes peripherally. It’ll be quite nice returning to my “normal” gaming/nostalgic persona now.

4 thoughts on “Profiles part two: Me and only me”

  1. Thanks for sharing! I took the gamer motivation profile when you last posted it (I’m always interested in these things) and that didn’t tell bring anything new to light, but the big 5 was much more interesting. Did the test break down the big 5 into their sub-categories? (I took the big 5 in another website a short while ago). I think it was nice to see within the same category how different things contribute to it. For example, although they’re both in openness to experience, I have low intellect (playing with abstract ideas, puzzles) but high imagination (the real world is boring, use fantasy to create a richer world). It was actually a good way to tell various people who insist on bringing me into their theoretical abstract conversations that I really don’t care =P

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And thank you for commenting! I don’t recall any further breakdown of the categories outside of some additional explanations.

      I was relatively pleased and a little surprised with the results I got, but I can agree with most of what they offer. I also agree that this test was much more insightful than the gamer one, fun though it was. Unfortunately, I don’t have much else to bring to the table when it comes to relationships, except that apparently I’m supposed to be much more in tune with others than I think I am. 🙂

      Like

Start a conversation

