iTunes Diaries, entry #32: “Butterfly” by Crazy Town

I was once a little…um, okay, terribly obsessed with iTunes.  I got my first iPod in 2004 and became immediately entranced by Apple’s seeming infinite lists of music for sale.  Over the years, I spent way too much time on iTunes and spent way too much money on music, some of which was great, and some of which was not.  In 2011, for the sake of my sanity and my bank account, I went cold turkey.  I suspended my iTunes activities and completely stopped visiting site.  With the iTunes Diaries, I take a look back, highlighting the good, the bad, and the ugly in music that I just had to have in the moment. 

********************

“Oh my god,” my friend said to me as Crazy Town’s “Butterfly” played through the speakers to which my iPod was attached,” This song…it’s so, so cheesy! Why do you even have it?”

This is the story I told. (Well…mostly.)

My husband and I didn’t “meet” as much as “pass each other repeatedly during work.” I had recently moved from my northern home to a new southern abode. (The deep south not the desert south.) This was move prompted by a job, a job in a professional theatre doing wardrobe and costuming work, a job that effectively allowed me to start a brand new life in a brand new place with brand new people.

Non-southerners often say mean things about the American South – I know because I was one of them. But I quickly found that none of those mean things were founded on much of anything except ignorance. Maybe it helped that I was in an urban rather and rural center, but aside from everyone speaking in various southern accents, everything else was exactly the same as it was in my northern home. There were grocery stores, malls, schools, paved roads, and yes…even theatres. Movie and live performance theatres, at that! I didn’t move expecting to end up in a backwards, non-tolerant, moronic culture, even though nobody I knew could stomach the idea of moving anywhere below the Mason-Dixon Line, because, frankly, backwards, non-tolerant, moronic people exist everywhere, not just in places were “y’all” and “grits” are common.

But it also helped that I was working in a live performance theatre, a place where the culture naturally leans towards liberal and accepting. And it became a home, my home, a home like I had never had before. I loved it, cherished every second of it, working with people who loved it as much if not more than me. And among those people was the man who would become my other half.

As we joke now, we say that we “solved the Civil War.”

It’s a terrible joke.

That guy had been working at the theatre long before me, so he was a regular fixture. I was new, barely three months into the job, working on the show Camelot, when we first passed each other on the stairs, smiling at each other. My co-worker who was with me, who had quickly become a most incredible friend in this foreign land, turned to me and said “He’s gonna be your next boyfriend.” (I need not explain the “next,” if only to say that theatre culture is very…welcoming.)

Near the end of the show’s run, I gave out bags of sweets to everyone on the backstage crews, including that sweet, smiley guy. He was the only one who gave me something back – a noisemaker (this was around Christmas/New Year’s) with a tag that said to “Poofy Cherry Head.” We weren’t on a first-name basis then, and at the time I had red hair (Manic Panic) that I often wore in big, puffed-up ponytails (the 90s.). Hence, “Poofy Cherry Head” was about as accurate as it got.

Shortly after, we had the following exchange stage left.

Him: “How many guys have asked you out since you been here?”

Me: “Three.”

Him: “And to how many of them did you say yes?”

Me: “Three.”

Him: “So if I asked you out, chances are pretty good that you’ll say yes?”

Me: “Yes.”

And that was that.

Because Camelot was our first show “together,” We took to calling each other “m’Lord” and “m’Lady.” I eventually dropped the “Lord” in favor of other pet names, but the “Lady” (minus the “m'”) stuck, and it has remained bound our existence all these years.

So it follows that when my husband presented me with my first iPod, he desired to formulated a mixtape…errr, playlist for it, for me. It was called “Lady” and contained songs with that word in the lyrics or title.

And that’s why I have Crazy Town’s “Butterfly” on my iPod.

(And yes it’s cheesy, just like Velveeta.)

Crazy Town – The Gift of Game (1999)

2 thoughts on “iTunes Diaries, entry #32: “Butterfly” by Crazy Town”

  1. This is the cutest “how I met my husband” story I’ve ever read! 🙂 Confession? I did sort of like this song once upon a time. Only because they played it so much on the radio! 😛 It’s catchy, damn it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thanks! It happened so long ago, I’m just happy to remember most of the details. 🙂 And I can’t help but think of it every I hear this song. Can’t blame anyone for liking it, it’s not as bad as some cheesy songs. And it’s an easy one to get stuck in your head!

      Liked by 1 person

Start a conversation

