iTunes Diaries, entry #28: “Emerge” by Fischerspooner

I was once a little…um, okay, terribly obsessed with iTunes.  I got my first iPod in 2004 and became immediately entranced by Apple’s seeming infinite lists of music for sale.  Over the years, I spent way too much time on iTunes and spent way too much money on music, some of which was great, and some of which was not.  In 2011, for the sake of my sanity and my bank account, I went cold turkey.  I suspended my iTunes activities and completely stopped visiting site.  With the iTunes Diaries, I take a look back, highlighting the good, the bad, and the ugly in music that I just had to have in the moment. 

********************

One of the first things I learned about getting along with the man who would become my husband was that I had to accept his love of “non-traditional” sports. That meant namely skateboarding, but also included surfing, snowboarding, BMX biking, and such. Having zero clue about any of these things outside of what I might have caught on the television, I was okay with learning about something new, as well as occasionally playing second fiddle to his first love. (After all, he accepted my ungodly love of the Muppets, so it was a fine trade off.) While I still can’t tell the different between a kickflip and a hardflip, skateboarding, and more recently, snowboarding, have strangely bonded us together.

While this journey has included trips to places where one can pursue in real life wood ramps and snow banks, a decent amount of our time together early on was spent watching skateboarding and snowboarding videos. Sitting down on a weekend to watch his latest acquisition became commonplace. Though I considered myself an outsider (and still do to some extent) to such a sports culture, it helped tremendously that the videos were mostly all set to music, and an amazing array of music at that. From classic rock to jazz to hip hop, skate and snowboard videos introduced me to sounds that I had never heard before.

And that’s where Fischerspooner came in.

I had heard the name “Fischerspooner” in electronica circles before hearing “Emerge” in the snowboarding video Video Gangs, but I didn’t have a sound to connect with the band. But when I first heard “Emerge,” I was like ‘Oh, that’s Fischerspooner,” as if I had heard the song a thousand times before without knowing who created it. There’s something oddly familiar about the song – like, you may not know it, but somehow you know it. Maybe another song copied its sinister opening beats. Maybe another song wrapped itself around its chorus. There’s something about “Emerge” that’s simply familiar.

But therein lays a problem with this great song. It’s so perfectly trippy, upbeat, and mellow all at once that, for me, it came to define the band. Like, “Emerge” was Fisherspooner and anything else, even other songs by the band, simply was not. Nothing on the album “Emerge” was on, #1, was of any interest to me, because it wasn’t “Emerge.”

Redundant much? Christ.

I guess my point is that I don’t know how big of a hit “Emerge” was for Fischerspooner, or how much of an audience they’ve had since the album #1 was released, and I don’t really care. It’s a hugely fun and necessary one-hit-wonder in my book, and it resides in one of my iPod’s most miscellaneous of playlists. It’s both an accepted part of my musical regimen and an orphan in its own right, and “Emerge” remains a song I’ll always associate with snowboarding and finding new music through extreme sports videos.

Fischerspooner -- #1 (2000)
Fischerspooner — #1 (2000)

2 thoughts on “iTunes Diaries, entry #28: “Emerge” by Fischerspooner”

    1. The best thing (or *one* of the best things) about music is that no matter how odd, unusual, overly-hyped, or crappy a song is, it will find an audience, and that audience will find each other. Tis a beautiful thing!

      Liked by 1 person

Start a conversation

