It’s Liebstering All Over the Place!

Over the past couple weeks, my reader has been brimming with the likes of the Liebster Award — a blog “award” that’s passed round with the intention of sending shoutouts to and discovering new blogs. Though it seems the Liebster’s format has changed a bit since I first received the award back in 2013 (she said both coyly and dumbly) , its mission remains about the same, and I’m more than happy to follow through with answering questions, creating more questions, and sending out nominations of my own. Many thanks to Mr. Luvva Luvva and Soulbound Life for their nods — please do follow their happy, lovely blogs if you’re not doing so already.

liebster-award

First up are the questions, two sets, one each from the nominators as follows.


Questions from Mr. Luvva Luvva

1. How did you come up with your online handle?

I didn’t; my parents did. Why use my name? Because when the time came to create a blog, I couldn’t think of a cool, unique namesake for my yet-to-be-defined alter ego. So I’m me, and me is what you get.

2. What game would you choose to play if you were stuck on a desert island (replete with every console ever made and a tv)?

Just one game forever and ever for the rest of my life? Conker’s Bad Fur Day. I’d need a game that talks so as to not feel lonely all the time, and something entertaining enough to play over and over. Also, I’d probably keep my insanity at bay at least a little (though more likely not at all), by singing the “Great and Mighty Poo” song to the sand and sea.

3. What was your most expensive gaming peripheral?

Can’t say I’ve bought any specialized gaming hardware or accessories over the years. I’d rather spend my money on the games themselves.

4. How much did it cost and was it worth it?

If I was to spend my money on a fun, wacky, or useful peripheral, I can assure you that it would be worth it.

5. Have you ever; knowingly, ripped someone off by either paying too little for a valuable or by charging too much for anything?

I did once switch price tags between an expensive swimsuit I really, really wanted and a cheap something or other that was on sale. I forget the store – TJ Maxx or Sears, maybe. I remember not feeling too bad about it at the time, but it didn’t set me off into pursuing a life of crime. The jury’s still out on whether or not that’s a good thing.

6. Which antagonist do you most identify with? (any medium)

This one took me awhile to consider. I kept coming back to Rhett Butler of Gone with the Wind. Like, I understand his distance and arrogance given that he’s not yet found acceptance within society, as well as his unwillingness to demonstrate a desire to love and be loved.

7. Which video-game character would you most like to date? Why?

Lowell from The Last Story. Because he’s witty, adorable, and is not afraid to say what’s on his mind…even if it might bring him physical harm. I’m pretty good at wrestling.

8. What’s the worst thing you have ever done?

Well, there was this one time, in college, my friends and I got really hi…

9. …in an online game?

…oh. Um…making everyone wait in Little Big Planet while I changed my Sackgirl’s outfit. After every round of play. Every. Single. Time.

10. What dead franchise would you most like to Kickstart/reboot, and why?

It’d be cool to see Earthworm Jim resurrected in some fashion. The EJ games, though difficult, were very memorable with wonderfully pervasive humor. (Hell, I’d even take a new EJ cartoon, which was probably even more fun than the original games!)

11. Would you rather date the world’s most effeminate man, or the world’s most masculine woman? Explain why.

The world’s most effeminate man. Because I have a thing for guys who can pull off being more feminine than me. (Blame David Bowie as Jareth in Labyrinth for that early imprint.) Also, masculine women scare me, frankly. Like, scare scare.


Questions from Soulbound Life

1. Are you supposed to be working right now?

Yep.

2. Are you supposed to be sleeping right now?

Nope, though a nap would be nice.

3. What is your daily go-to blog or site?

I’d have to say my Feedly. Even though I’m a very poor user of it, it’s about the only thing that connects me to the gaming world and the outside world in general on a daily basis.

4. What sort of writing are you drawn to, stylistically speaking, and why? Conversational, narrative, journalistic, academic, etc.

Probably a combination of conversational and narrative. I like a good story, and the most engaging ones seem to have a bit of both.

5. In terms of your creative process, are you dominantly a creator/inventor, an editor/crafter, or an engineer/technician?

It depends on the task at hand. If it’s writing, then my creator/inventor side comes out – I can easily come up with a million ideas, but executing them is problematic. If it’s a physical task like knitting or gardening or cooking, I’m more an engineer/tech  because I’m better at taking direction and/or executing others’ ideas (i.e following a pattern or recipe).

6. Are there any resources you use to better your writing/artistic skills? 

For writing, it’s reading. Reading great writing always compels me to want to become better at it myself. And right now, most of the reading I’m doing is of blog posts – there are so many great writers out there, and it’s inspiring to see the amazing ways in which the English language is so commanded by others.

 7. Who is your Internet/social media crush? (Twitter/Tumblr/Blog/etc.) Confess, now!

I’m too diplomatic to crush, so I’m just going to redirect this question in a manner I see fit. (I’m also quite pretentious, apparently.)  If a new blogger wanted to know five sites they should start following immediately, I’d recommend At the Buzzer, Games I Made My Girlfriend Play, Murf Versus, Simpleek, and The Duck of Indeed. The folks behind these sites have been wonderfully supportive of my own blog over the years, and they have my support as well. You’ll not find a more wonderful group of online friends than in this here blogosphere.

8. Favorite comic-strip?

Of all time: Calvin and Hobbes. Currently: Pearls Before Swine.

9. Hayao Miyazaki or Satoshi Kon?

I must confess that I’ve not seen any of the films of either. Sorry.

10. Lootcrate?

I can’t. It just seems like a great way to receive monthly dosages of clutter.


Now, onto my questionnaire.

  1. What is your earliest gaming memory?
  2. If you were forced to play ONLY multiplayer (local or online) games or ONLY single-player games for the rest of your life, which would you choose and why?
  3. Put your iPod/mp3 player on shuffle. What are the first five songs that play?
  4. What do you think video games will look like in 2115?
  5. What video game setting/world would be a great place to visit but a bad place to live?
  6. You decide to go shopping. Do you leave the house or go online?
  7. Do you tend to keep or trade/sell your games?
  8. Name one video game artifact (i.e. not a game) that belongs in a fine arts museum.
  9. Name one video game artifact that should be destroyed for the sake of all humanity.
  10. What is your favorite historical era?
  11. What was the last thing you wrote by hand?

And finally, my nominations:

The Angry Scholar
InvaderC8
SamEarl13
Nintendobound
TriTops Gaming
Very Very Gaming
The Triple Option

(A postscript to the blogosphere — Feel free to take a  stab at those questions even if you’re not listed above, including you  Mr. Luvva Luvva and Soulbound Life! And no matter what, always pass on the love.)

 

 

14 thoughts on “It’s Liebstering All Over the Place!”

  1. Earthworm Jim will be nearly impossible to bring back. However, the creator of Earthworm Jim does has a new game coming out called Armikrog!!! Check it out. It’s a point and click adventure game, but the art is out of this world!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on getting another award! Well deserved as always. And d’aww! I’m one of your internet crushes? Or more precisely, one of your blogs to begin with when new to the blogosphere?! Squee!!!!! Okay, I’m cool, now that I got that out of my system. 😀 Kidding aside, I value your friendship and support very much. I’ll be oh so grateful for our paths crossing in this big wide interwebs. You’ll always have me in your corner and being a super cheerleader in whatever you do. Yay Cary! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thanks :*). You’ve definitely got a friend in me too, no matter where you venture with writing! The blogs I recommend to people, like yours, all demonstrate passion and personality, which are vital to maintain if one hopes to start or continue to blog meaningfully. And I know people razz on awards like these, but they really are great ways to help expand support for blogging generally. Even though we’ve all got our own sites and our own lives, we’re all in this together. And that’s pretty cool!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, and you’re welcome. 🙂 I’m glad you found a few new sites to follow. I have little time these days to be active on the sites I follow, so these blog awards are a nice way throw out a little recognition.

      Like

    1. Okay, so question #8 could have been easy (and dangerous) if not for question #9, which took me a long time to think about. I don’t play much online, so I knew my answer wasn’t going to be very clever. I’ve heard plenty of stories of people being terrible in online games, and I’d rather stay away from all that “fun.” 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was thinking of a specific thing I did in UO which was follow a dude for ages and learn his routine – befriend him and earn his trust (to find his castle) join his guild then betray him in the worst possible way – by seizing control of his castle returning it to deed and taking it to my housing area! To make matters worse I may have killed him and his guild and steal all of their ore to make weapons and armour! A horrendous thing to do – was funny though at the time!

        I did return the stuff after a while but war had been declared and the fun that ensued was amazing!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I’m glad to hear you relinquished in the end, but what you describe sounds like something out of the history books, or a great historical novel! Betrayal is part of war, and war is a game, the whole point of which is to turn tables to your advantage in whatever ways possible. Along as your strategy worked, “evil” though it might have been in the moment, and everyone had fun, then it sounds like the game (and the war) was a success. 🙂

          Like

  3. Great answers! I don’t have the balls to do the price tag swapping thing… But my mother does. She’s saved me a fortune down the years. 😀
    A reboot of Earthworm Jim would be so, so awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s hilarious about your mother! I mean, in a good way, I’m sure she’s a lovely person, and let’s face it, some things are just too overpriced for their own good!

      I’d like to think that SEGA has something something Earthworm Jim hidden in a back pocket somewhere, but my hope only goes so far.

      Liked by 1 person

Start a conversation

