Recipe Challenge: Fried Rice with Mushrooms

Sharing another one here from 8bit Kitchen. (You are following it…yeeeeessss??) This time, it’s a recipe I made up myself, which isn’t something I often do. I’m the kind of person who likes to follow directions (I coulda been a cartographer!), but when 8bit Kitchen’s contributors received a recipe challenge, I would have been daft to say no. Read on to find out more about the challenge and my special (and thankfully tasty) recipe.

8bit Kitchen

Mushrooms and I have a…well…rocky relationship. That’s to say I’ve spent the better part of my life avoiding them. For many years, they simply struck out in both the taste and texture departments. (Unless they were hidden so deeply in a dish as to be completely unrecognizable.) But some years ago I learned about the nutritional benefits of mushrooms, and since then have been trying to accept them into my life. I can now eat mushrooms on a pizza without wincing and can make a suitable mushroom gravy when needed. I’ve also been cooking with them more as I would any regular vegetable. The results have been…not the worst, but I still have a long way to go in become the world’s greatest mushroom chef.

Part of this re-examination of mushrooms has involved trying different varieties. For the most part, and thanks to their explosion of the 2000s, portabella mushrooms…

View original post 726 more words