Project 151: Oh, I’ll get it done, eventually, I promise

When I started Pokemon LeafGreen earlier in the year, I though I might have it completed by the end of the year. Well…suddenly, it’s the end of the year.  And…I am not the Pokemon champion. 😦 Oh, I’m stupidly close. Just look:

Round 1: Lorelai and her icy Pokemon
Round 1: Lorelai and her icy Pokemon
Lorelai defeated!
Lorelai defeated!
Round 2: Bruno and his fighting Pokemon
Round 2: Bruno and his fighting Pokemon
Bruno defeated!
Bruno defeated!
Round 3: Agatha and her ghostly Pokemon
Round 3: Agatha and her ghostly Pokemon
Now you're making me blush...
Now you’re making me blush…
Agatha defeated!
Agatha defeated!
Round 4: Lance and his dragon Pokemon
Round 4: Lance and his dragon Pokemon
TRUTH!
TRUTH!
WOOHOO! IT'S ABOUT GODDAMN TIME!!
WOOHOO! IT’S ABOUT GODDAMN TIME!!

Only, as many of you know, that was not the end of the game. After defeating Lance, my happy dance was cut short upon him informing me that he was a big, fat liar, and that, in fact, I WAS NOT the Pokemon champion, because my stupid, stupid brother Lars had beat me to it. He was the true champion and the one I had to beat. Well just…shitonabrick. I entered his chamber and was greeted with the fight of my life. My team was simply no match for his, and I lost. Simple as that.

Well, maybe not that simple. With the supreme busy-ness that’s accompanied this holiday, plus having way too many other games to attend to, LeafGreen is currently on the backburner. But I’m nearing 60 hours with the game, which is pretty impressive in my little gaming book.

progress12-24-14

I’ve actually made my way through the Elite Four a couple times, only to choke in the end. I have in mind a few things that I need to do, like beat the Elite Four over and over again so that I can level up my necessary Pokemon, but I imagine that’s a pretty crappy strategy. Any advice? Without the necessary stamina and focus, I’m probably not going to get back to Leaf Green in earnest until after the holiday. Or not until I can handle more grinding.

Thankfully, the rising spirit of Christmas has helped negate much of my negativity concerning LeafGreen, because hey…I beat the Elite Four! I’ve beaten them several times! That’s a decent accomplishment, and one I’m happy holding onto for awhile. I made a promise to myself to complete the game and I will, when the timing is right. Which is not now. Hell, Christmas is just a couple hours away and I’ve got things to do, to make, and to enjoy!

Merry Christmas folks, and may your holiday be filled with goodness and positivity. 🙂

P. S. Thanks also for all the Project 151 support. Rest assured that I’ll be back next month with another update, hopefully of the I-BEAT-IT! variety.

 

12 thoughts on “Project 151: Oh, I’ll get it done, eventually, I promise

  1. Do you have a high-level electric pokemon? I recall electric was decent against most of his team. Also, are you using EXP. Share (or exp. ALL)? It could help cut down your level-grinding time.

    Like

    1. As a matter of fact, I DO now have a high-level electric-type: Zapdos! I’ll go into further details about my adventures finding him in my next Project 151 post, but I just added him to the team. He’s already at level 50, but I’m not to keen on his current set of moves, so I’ll have to make some changes there. (Also found the Thunder TM, so that should help tremendously.)

      I also put my low level Jolteon on the Day Care, but it’s taking forever for it to level up sufficiently, so it looks like using Zapdos is the way to go for the moment.

      Yes, I have been using Exp. Share…is there and EXP. ALL in this game??! I would LOVE to have that, for sure. Exp. Share has been very useful.

      Like

Start a conversation

