Project 151: The home stretch…maybe? Maybe not.

For some reason, my last Project 151 post feels like it was f-o-r-e-v-e-r ago. Maybe that’s because this last month of play has consisted of two things: obtaining the final badge and grinding. Lots and lots and lots of grinding. So MUCH goddamn grinding! {sob}

It doesn't feel like I've put in 50 hours, but there is it.
It doesn’t feel like I’ve put in 50 hours, but there is it.

With that in mind, I’m just gonna ask outright: what in the world do I have to do to beat the Elite Four? If you have any tips, just head right to the comments, because it’s taken nearly all my willpower to NOT go online and be a big cheater-cheater-pumpkin-eater.

In any event, if you’ve been following along with me here, you know that since my last post, I only needed one more badge to complete the set of eight. Turned out that this meant I needed to do a little backtracking. I knew I needed to head to a gym, but it took me some time and traveling to figure out which one I hadn’t been to yet. So I spent a couple playthroughs just wandering from town to town. It wasn’t a total waste as I took on some trainers that I had previously missed and was able to level up my team pretty well, which at that point consisted of Charizard, Pidgeot, Snorlax, Victreebel, Persian, and Nidoqueen (occasionally switched out for Onix).

Gettin' busy with the TMs.
Gettin’ busy with the TMs.

I also took a trip back through the Berry Forest (found two berries this time and the crowd went wild) and decided to play through the Safari Zone once more just for the hell of it.

My bored wanderings eventually led me to where I needed to be: Viridian City and the final gym. And what a doozy it was! Having to fight through eight trainers was no easy task, but my high-level Charizard and nearly level-40 team managed well enough. Meeting Giovanni at the end was something of a surprise, but it certainly made sense given all the story beforehand. In any case, as masterful with the Pokemon as Mr. Giovanni claimed to be, the match went smoothly and I was rewarded with the Marshbadge. With number eight in the bag, it was on to the last place I had yet to visit – the road leading west out of Viridian City.

Which wouldn’t have been complete without one last battle with my brother Lars. He may have brought it, but I brought it harder!

I competely forgot to get a screenshpt pf the batle with Gary, so here's my Persian learning SECRET POWER.
I completely forgot to get a screenshot pf the battle with Lars, so here’s my Persian learning SECRET POWER. Kinda…unremarkable.

After completing what seemed to be the final match with Lars (or, I hope it was), I made my way past all the guards with all my badges and ended up…in another cave. DAMMIT. Sure didn’t feel like reaching victory even though the placed was called “Victory Road.” So I moved a lot of boulders, faced, a lot of Machomps and Golbats, and even caught me a Marowak, which made me pretty darn pleased for no good reason other than it brought my caught Pokemon total to an even…69. (Hehe.) But as with all things in Pokemon, being in the cave wasn’t all bad as, again, I managed to get all my Pokemon up or close to level 45, which was alright by me. Whatever lain beyond Victory Road, I imagined that I was in a pretty good position to face it. (I also decided upon my final team, switching out Nidoqueen/Onix for Sandslash, partially because I think he’s kinda cute with all his spiky armor.)

Yay?
Yay?
SO many Onixes. SO MANY!
SO many Onixes. SO MANY!
It was no easy battle.
It was no easy battle.

I don’t need to tell you that heading up the Indigo Plateau and facing the Elite Four was all that remained. Without thinking twice, I healed my team, stocked up on some potions, and blindly staggered into the first match.

Onward...
Onward…
...and upward...
…and upward…
Oh crap.
…oh crap.

And…I failed. Shit, did I fail. I mean, there’s no sugar coating it. I didn’t make it past three of Lorelei’s (the first of the Elite Four) ice/water Pokemon, all of which were level 50 or higher. Like, I didn’t even have time to be shocked at the single-hit deaths and endless full restores. One by one my team was destroyed. The carnage, it was awful.

As the game so kindly mentioned when you “white out,” I ran (with my tail between my legs) back to the Pokemon Center just before the Elite Four. After healing, I thought some on my strategy. I haven’t been good about keeping track of which types work best against each other, so I was a bit harried at the thought of remembering what worked well against ice and water. I switch my team’s positions with focus on grass, rock, and fire abilities. (And I completely regretted not leveling up my Jolteon – electricity probably would have been useful.) The second time with Lorelei was better, but I still didn’t beat her. The third time was no better.

So that’s when the grinding started. I traveled back and forth, around and through, to any spots that allowed for random encounters. And now, about a week and a half later, I’m still level grinding. Grinding, grinding, grinding. Always and forever grinding. My Charizard remains at Level 61, and I’ve almost got everyone else up to Level 50. I feel like with everyone at Level 50, I’ll at least have a fighting chance, though I do have to say that some of Lorelei’s attacks seem awfully heavy-handed. I can’t say that I’m going to feel any better about facing her with Level 50+ Pokemon, as I think I’d still be at something of a disadvantage. But that’s the pessimist in me talking. Maybe it’ll all go okay.

This calls for more TMs.
This calls for more TMs.

Of course, there are three more trainers after her, so… … …

Nobody said the road to victory was easy.

12 thoughts on “Project 151: The home stretch…maybe? Maybe not.”

  1. You’ve already got the pokemon to take down the first of the Loreli: Charizard, Onyx, and Jolteon (grass helps too). Just get them up a bit higher and you’ll have the fight in the bag, especially if you anchor with Jolteon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. See, I was wondering at a certain point if I should keep Onix, but then I switched it out for Sandslash (for no good reason). So maybe I’ll switch him back since I’ve not been having a good a time with Sandslash as I hoped. As for Jolteon, it’s now in the daycare! I plan to keep him there for a bit and then level him up on my own.

      I’m still hoping to have this game complete by the end of the year, but it may not happen with all this grinding! Ah well.

      Like

      1. Onix is going to be a gamble to be sure. Ice is weak to rock, but rock might be just as weak to ice. You might want to have a look at Bulbapedia, it has everything you could ever want to know about anything Pokemon related, especially stuff like type strengths and weaknesses.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Victory road…that S.O.B nearly killed me back in the day, and prompted the habit of leveling up most of my Pokemon (not my team, all I had captured) and mixing up my team to counteract what those guys would throw at me! Its time consuming (use the day care centre), but it is less frustrating than getting continuously wiped out.

    Like

    1. Day care center?! You mean I could have been leveling up my Jolteon THIS WHOLE TIME!?? Well damn…goes to show you just how little exploring I’ve done in the game overall. Or, it’s possible that I came across it in complete ignorance. So…where is it? Maybe just a hint?

      I really do need to find a chart or something that would help me better understand types vs. types, because I just can’t keep it all straight in my head. Maybe that’s why little kids are so good at Pokemon — their brains have plenty of room for remembering as they aren’t yet filled with adult-type nonsense!

      Like

      1. South of cerulean city, a tree you use cut on and it’s there! Near the underground passage!

        Only issue is you can’t choose the moves of the pokemon, so keep that in mind and check on them regularly, the day care can ruin pokemon!

        The Pokemon also aren’t as tough in fights too lol it’s all very complex

        Liked by 1 person

        1. So I followed the route and found the daycare. Would you believe that I HAD found it previously and there was a level-up Spearow waiting for me??! (You totally should because I am really*that* dense.) In any event, I traded it out for my Jolteon. Thanks for the tip about the moves, etc. — I’ll keep that in mind should I decide to add the little electric beast to my team.

          Thanks again for your help!

          Like

Start a conversation

