The Importance of Friends

This year marks the 20th anniversary of lots of things, but none are as important to me as the premiere of the television show Friends. That might sound a little lame, but through Friends I became connected. Connected to the people I knew and loved with whom I watch the show, and connected to the greater zeitgeist that arose from the show itself. I still think it’s one of the best sitcoms ever created, and it’s nothing less than a true high point of the 1990s. If you feel that way as well, click below to head over to Geek Force Network for my own little treatise on the importance of Friends.

Geek Force Network

This coming Monday (September 22nd) marks the 20th anniversary of the first airing of the first episode of the sitcom Friends. And while I could blather on about how that makes me feel “soooo old!” instead, Friends reminds me more of my friends and the bonds we formed over the show. But more than that, Friends was simply fine television. Yeah, it was (and still is) easy to make fun of its broadness and archetypical characters, or put down for being too fluffy and inconsequential, but Friends demonstrated a power that had only been captured by a handful of sitcoms before it. It was a show that was easy for everyone to watch. Whether you laughed with the cast or at it, you still laughed, and you still watched because there was just some about it that was so appealing.

I didn’t watch Friends from the start. In fact…

View original post 1,090 more words

Start a conversation

