(Another) Fifteen Songs

Last summer I worked up a post highlighting some 15 songs from my iPod. You’ve probably seen the game before on Facebook or other social media – put your iPod on shuffle and list the first 15 songs that play (no cheating!). I did that post out of stress, and because I couldn’t wrap my head around the fact that I had a ton of games in tow that I wasn’t playing. This second time round, things are no different. I’ve had a stressful but fun holiday weekend and all I really want to do right now is to pop in my earbuds and drift away to the sounds of my music. Plus, it’s Labor Day. Everybody’s still out vacationing, barbecuing, or dead to the world because they’ve done too much of either, or both. I mean, are you really here? Hell, I don’t even know if I’m here. Where am I anyway? And does anybody really know what time it is?

Enough gabbling — let’s get on with the music!

(As with last time, I’ll present short spiels about the first five songs that play, and the rest I’ll list consecutively with links at the end. Click away!)

1. song1

Of course a David Bowie song would show up first! But not just any David Bowie song; one from Labyrinth nonetheless. Like many a young girl who saw this movie and dreamed of being Sarah next to Bowie’s stunning visage and raging codpiece, I fell in love with the singer right then and there. “Magic Dance” is a ridiculously fun, almost nonsensical diddy that Bowie, as Goblin King Jareth, sings to make the stolen Toby (Sarah’s baby brother) feel more at ease among the goblin ranks. It’s not my favorite song from the movie, but helps lighten up the overall madcap tone of the goblins themselves. After all, everyone, even goblins and their king, deserve to have a little mad fun every now and again.

*****

2. song2

Yeah. Sooo…I couldn’t find a video or even a proper link to this song. That’s possibly because…it’s not that good, maybe? Look, I really like DJ Shadow, and I ain’t got any beef with Nump or his abilities, but “Keep Em Close”  just doesn’t do much for me. If you can find the song, take a listen and tell me what you think. As for The Outsider, I don’t know, it’s a good but not great album. It’s not the DJ Shadow I know from albums like Preemptive Strike, a masterpiece in sound and design (imho). So that explains the video. And I’ll readily admit that not everything on my iPod is a winner, even to my own ears.

*****

3. song3

Before the “ooga chaka” version of this song that was unleashed upon the world in the 1970s, which was only made worse in in later years by a goddamned dancing baby and David Hasselhoff, B. J. Thomas brought us a lovely and simply tale of a lover obsessed set to a late sixties twang. As many of you know, this song, again with the ooga chakas, made it’s way back into the collective memory thanks to Guardians of the Galaxy. It’s a great song and one that deserves to be resurrected every now and again, no matter the version.

*****

4. song4

Though it’s not a “musical” in the traditional sense, Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story is probably my most favorite musical movie of the past decade. After seeing the movie, I simply had to have the soundtrack. And not just because of the mostly hilarious songs, but because John C. Reilly is a damn fine singer! I love the Forrest Gump-ness of Dewey Cox, and Reilly does so well in both parodying and paying tribute to musical genres of the pasty forty years.

*****

5. song5

Having spent part of my youth mired (happily, for the most part) in piano lessons, I quickly learned that Frederic Chopin was, for many player, the ultimate pianist. Having parents who pretty much only allowed classical music in the house, I listened to my far share of his work. We had a number of albums devoted to individual artists and his work, and I came to really like the Chopin one. I love the sound of a single piano playing anyway (classical, jazz, doesn’t matter), and Chopin’s music racked with quiet and beautiful emotion. This nocturne is one of his more familiar works, but if you like what you hear, I highly recommend exploring more of his catalog. His range is quite remarkable.

*****

And here are songs 6 through 15:

  1. Can’t Stand Beggin’ – DJ Y alias JY
  2. 3 Freaks (Droop-E Remix) – DJ Shadow feat. Mistah Fab, Turf Talk, and Keak Da Sneak
  3. Everything I Want to Be – Save Ferris
  4. Raise Your Hand – Janis Joplin
  5. We’re Only Gonna Die – Bad Religion
  6. Out of My Hands – The Donnas
  7. Winter (Allegro non molto): The Four Seasons – Antonio Vivaldi, performed Camerata Academia Salzburg
  8. Maiden Goes to Hollywood – Wax Audio
  9. Darkwood (Fable) – Russell Shaw
  10. Sid Gurney, Mall Cop – Bob and Tom radio show

So there ya go, another holiday ’bout to be in the bag, another fifteen songs. Hope everyone out there has enjoyed or is still enjoying a great holiday weekend! As for me, I may or may not be able to hork out a post this Wednesday. If I rise up from  my stupor later, we’ll see how things go.

7 thoughts on “(Another) Fifteen Songs”

Start a conversation

