If I were to play Super Metroid for the first time today, would I like it?

For many of us, video games do more than just fill up free time. They provide outlets for pent-up emotions. They connect us with people across the world. And they serve has historical waypoints — like pins on a map that tell us where we’ve been. Those memories shape and inform our gaming experiences in the present. For example, the more I play (and become increasingly frustrated with) Guacamelee today, the more I wonder if I would enjoy its ancestor, Super Metroid (and my most favorite of all games) today. Super Metroid, in my mind, isn’t nearly as difficult as Guacamelee can be, but still, do my anxieties spring from the fact that my reflexes aren’t what the used to be, or something more? Find out in this post I recently wrote for United We Game.

VIRTUAL BASTION

Image by Flickr user Mark LehighImage by Flickr user Mark Lehigh

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I really like Super Metroid. It’s one of my most favorite games of all time and one that I can’t separate from my video game life. The game celebrates its 20th anniversary this year, and I can still see myself, all those years ago, glued to my parents’ television set as I guided Samus on a path to victory.

The very first time I played Super Metroid, it didn’t go so well. It wasn’t awful enough that I never wanted to play it again, but it was difficult. I hadn’t played either Metroid or Metroid II, but the mechanics of the game weren’t completely foreign; it was more my silly impatience that got in the way. I died…a lot…mainly because I didn’t take time to plan my jumps and I was terrible at timing my…

View original post 672 more words

Start a conversation

