iTunes Diaries, entry #13: “Murder on the Dance Floor” by Sophie Ellis-Bextor

I was once a little…um, okay, terribly obsessed with iTunes.  I got my first iPod in 2004 and became immediately entranced by Apple’s seeming infinite lists of music for sale.  Over the years, I spent way too much time on iTunes and spent way too much money on music, some of which was great, and some of which was not.  In 2011, for the sake of my sanity and my bank account, I went cold turkey.  I suspended my iTunes activities and completely stopped visiting site.  With the iTunes Diaries, I take a look back, highlighting the good, the bad, and the ugly in music that I just had to have in the moment. 

********************

Blame it on my parents. Or rather, just my mom. When I was a little kid, my mom had a couple Abba tapes (Voulez-Vous, for sure, and I think the other was Super Troupers), and I adored them. Like, adored them to the point that I’d put one on and dance around the house all silly-like, much to my parent’s amusement, surely. Then and there were sowed the seeds of my perpetual affection for disco.

When the genre made resurgence in the early 1990s, along with 70s retro generally, I absolutely embraced the trend. Bell bottoms and platform shoes soon rested right alongside my big sweaters and torn jeans. And oh, that music! I became obsessed with the Saturday Night Live soundtrack (and movie). I snatched up disco compilations from the music store like they were going out of style (and they had, which was ironic, or…whatever.) I memorized lyrics both ridiculous and serious (or as “serious” as disco got) in a heartbeat. My obsession softened over the years, but I never got rid of my love of a snazzy disco beat. And since the return of all things 70s, my love of disco has been rekindled by the likes of Jamiroquai and Basement Jaxx. Most recently (as in several years ago), disco once again jumped to the forefront of my musical preferences with this mashup:

What the…? Whose magical voice was being wrought upon my ears? Oh…and that groove., complete with violins! So seductive! I recall downloading this song and listening to it on repeat for the better part of a day. I eventually got my ass to the Internet to find out more about this mysterious songstress who wanted to commit murder upon said dance floor: Sophie Ellis-Bextor.

I had never heard of Ellis-Bextor, but boy oh boy, was she something else in the UK. And what of “Murder on the Dance Floor?” It was off her debut album Read My Lips and had been a huge hit for her there in 2002. She had been making music for years and was a highly acclaimed artist, or so the Wikipedia said. But sadly, when I went to look for her song on the iTunes, it wasn’t there. And that sucked royally cause I thought it would be a great addition to a dance music playlist I had been compiling. Only one of her albums had been uploaded to the site, and though can’t recall which one, it wasn’t the right one. I remember contemplating buying it just because I really liked her, but I didn’t know enough of her music to justify the purchase. Instead, I went off to Pandora and YouTube to find out more. Needless to say, she’s really awesome, so please listen to her stuff. Also, needless to say, “Murder on the Dance Floor” did eventually end up on iTunes and I snatched it up as soon as I saw it. The song adds wondrous beats and grace my only-slightly-embarrassing playlist of 90s club tunes and recent mixes.

Sophie Ellis-Bextor -- Read My Lips (2001)
Sophie Ellis-Bextor — Read My Lips (2001)

Aside: Have I mentioned mashups here before? Shame on me if not, but I can promise they’ll make more appearances. I’ve found them to be great sources for discovering new music.

2 thoughts on “iTunes Diaries, entry #13: “Murder on the Dance Floor” by Sophie Ellis-Bextor”

  1. I was a massive, massive fan of Basement Jaxx and Jamiroquai when I was younger. I’ve seen both acts live as an adult and Basement Jaxx in particular were phenomenal. Long live disco/jazz/funk fusion!

    Like

Start a conversation

