The playlist to end all playlists!

Fireworks? Party hats? Song and dance? Nope. More awkward posing.
Fireworks? Party hats? Song and dance? Nope. More awkward posing.

Happy New Year’s everyone! Hope you all have had, so far, a wonderful first day of 2014. I have high hopes that will be nothing less than a brilliant year. I know for me it’s going to be busy, especially with some house/garden renovations on the horizon. But till then, it’s still hibernation time, so I’m planning to squish every last second of time I have into getting through some small portion of my gaming backlog, and y’know…life and stuff.

But I know that that at least a few of you aren’t here to swap small talk; you’re hear for the super duper PLAYLIST TO END ALL PLAYLISTS! A mere 30 days ago, I sent out a call across the blogosphere asking people to send me songs! Any songs! Since the 25th (the final day of the receiving end of the experiment), I’ve received a ton of recommendations, and I can only say a very sincere thank you to everyone who responded. Over the past week, I’ve spent hours scouring through iTunes for the songs that appeared either in response to my blog post or via Twitter. I’ve planted myself in front of YouTube, Bandcamp, and Soundcloud listening to song after song and revealing in so much wonderful musicality! You guys have such good tastes! Now I’ll be honest, I don’t think I’ve ever met a song that I’ve really, truly hated, so it’s not like anyone went into this as a loser. In other words, even if a song you suggested didn’t make it onto this playlist, it doesn’t mean it won’t make it onto the next, or the next, or the next. More than anything, this process made me realize that there will never be an end to great music because there will always be the unknown to explore.

The vast majority of suggestions that came in were completely new to me, which, I’ll admit, made me feel somewhat out of touch. Worse though was when I’d play a song and realize that I’d heard it before but had no clue about it otherwise. Still, the whole listening process was no less than enjoyable, and making the final choices was a little harrowing but still fun. I discovered a number of musicians that NEED to be in my life (V. V. Brown, The City Church Little Band, Burden Brothers, Silkworm, Debs and Errol). I discovered the hyperkinetic joy of vocaloid music (thanks, Strawberry!). I discovered that a number of the songs or artists brought back tons of unintended and buried memories (Spread Your Love, Jesus and the Mary Chain, The Mountain Goats). And I discovered that the healthy roots of music that I generally turn to (classic rock, downtempo, new wave, metal) have spread among and through what the “young kids” are listening to today.

But enough with the blah-blah-music-is-great babbling. You want the SONGS, right? You want the PLAYLIST CHOICES, right? We’ll, here ya go…!

You’ll see that I divided my spreadsheet into a couple different sections, and each is arranged alphabetically by song or album title. Because I had so many “direct” suggestions (as opposed to “indirect” suggestions from folks to check out this or that blog), I primarily pulled just from that portion. The only exception is that the recommended song of Kagamine Rin and Len wasn’t on iTunes, so I pulled one of the songs that was from the “indirect” section. In the case of the Silkworm song, “Couldn’t You Wait?,” which I really, really liked, it wasn’t on iTunes, so I chose another of theirs that was. Severalfull albums were recommended to me, and if I chose a song of one of them, it’s noted as such in the “direct” section. There were a few direct recommendations that I already have (listed in italics). And at least a few items aren’t on iTunes but are available elsewhere, through Bandcamp or Soundcloud. As I mentioned before, these “final” choices really just paved the way for further exploration, as I hope to get more of these songs on my iPod in the future. In the end, I chose the songs that simply spoke to me the loudest in the moment.

I can’t think of a better way to start out a new year than with new sounds, fresh sounds, sounds that will jar me out of my musical rut. My personal thanks goes out, once again, to everyone who participated: Space Giraffe, Strawberry the Glaceon, Steve, C. T. Murphy, @the_last_rewind, Simpleek, @subHERBianMuZiK, Cynenway, @1001-Up, Mandaray, Desperado316, and Ashley Hagood. Also check out The Chindividual and Herding Cats for lists of great songs from the past year. Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU, and I hope 2014 brings prosperity, happiness, and plenty of great music to all!

I’ve named the playlist “invigorate” in honor of its purpose. And it’s already brightening up my iTunes Library. 🙂

invigorate playlist in iTunes

19 thoughts on “The playlist to end all playlists!”

    1. If variety is the spice of life, then this playlist is like the Dutch East India Company! (Y’know, cause they were spice traders and…uh…stuff.) I’ll admit to only having heard of Debs & Errol (the band) before this, but I couldn’t stop listening once I found them on iTunes (and then on Bandcamp). Geek + music + parody + love = brilliance!

      Like

  1. Great list! By the way, if you ever find a Vocaloid song that you like, but that isn’t on iTunes, you can go to http://www*youtube-mp3*org/ (replace the *s with dots). Once you go there, you just have to copy and paste the Youtube video URL to the bar that’s there, and hit “Convert Video”, and the video will be converted into MP3 format. Then you should be able to just drag and drop it onto your iPod. So, do you have a favorite Vocaloid yet, or are you waiting to hear more of them before picking a favorite? Oh, and Happy New Year!

    Like

    1. Happy New Year to you as well! I don’t know that I’ve explored the medium enough to have a favorite song yet, though I was really disappointed when I couldn’t find Death Should Not Have Taken Thee in iTunes. It’s just so catchy and wonderful!

      By the way, that’s a great conversion trick — I had no idea! I’ll definitely get some use out of it. 🙂

      Like

      1. Yeah, that’s Wonderful Opportunity for ya, they write some of the catchiest Vocaloid songs IMO. Another good song that WO wrote is 8 Hit, which is sung by Kagamine Rin and Len. According to the thing under the Youtube video title, 8 Hit is on iTunes. Sorry that I didn’t mention it earlier, I had actually forgotten about the song until yesterday. Which version of Death Should Not Have Taken Thee did you like better, the English or the Japanese? The English one is my favorite.

        Like

        1. That’s a tough call. I like the Jubyphonic version a little better (if only because I understand the lyrics!), but both versions have really great energy.

          Like

  2. Wow! Awesome! I’m glad you liked my recommendations of Florence and Marina. I noticed a few others as well… I love sharing my music with others so I would definitely like to listen to you whole playlist. Wish I could just click and play them all…

    Like

    1. LINKS! WHY DIDN’T I THINK OF THAT?!?! Thanks for the idea — I’ve got links (YouTube, bandcamp, etc.) up for most of the playlist choices and may work on making links for the rest of the songs for any curious clickers.

      Like

  3. This looks like a lot of work. I was debating following your lead, but spreadsheets? I don’t do spreadsheets!

    Oh and sorry I recommended entire albums rather than specific tracks. I suppose that probably made this whole process a bigger pain in the ass. Glad you had fun though!

    I look forward to combing through your selections.

    Like

    1. Oi, I practically live in spreadsheets! (That’s probably not a good thing.) And I certainly didn’t mind going through songs on the albums you suggested, though it was a little more difficult to pick single songs from such great artists. Besides, this all helped form a great base for future playlists. When “work” is fun, it’s hardly work!

      Like

  4. Awesome playlist! I’m also glad some of what I suggested made the final cut in your playlist. FYI, I adore “Elements” from Lindsey Stirling. I play it on repeat pretty often these days. One of my favorite non-vocal songs. 🙂 Happy New Year!

    Like

    1. Same to you! 🙂 I’ve listened to Stirling’s songs here and there, but was never sure where to start in terms of picking a favorite. I know “Elements” won’t be last my iPod has heard of her!

      Like

Start a conversation

