We’ll return to your regularly scheduled video game memories in a moment, but first…

SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!

Or rather, SQUEEEEEEEEEEE UUUUU!!!!

A sight to behold!
A sight to behold!

My husband and I aren’t very good at doing “Christmas” on Christmas. Since we tend to do most of our shopping online, it’s hard to hide packages from one another, even if we ship them elsewhere and try to bring them home in secret.  So awhile back we decided to just give up on the whole thing and deal with our presents whenever we could during the month of December. That said, we are still pretty good at getting each other unexpected gifts.  With that in mind, after a weekend shopping run, when I came home to find a Mario/Luigi Wii U box siting by the door, I was absolutely flabbergasted. Seriously. Like ghasted with a whole bunch of flabber mixed in.

After I picked up my jaw from the floor, I went on a “No…you shouldn’t have…but…I don’t even …WHAT??…where did you?…HOW?…” ramble. Ever since our discussion about new systems, I was sure that our money was being saved for either a PS4 for an Xbox One. Once my incoherence stopped, I stared, still stunned, at my husband. All he said was “Merry Christmas.” Y’all, I coulda cried.

But I didn’t, because there was some setting up to do!! After moving our nearly abandoned Wii to another TV, we placed the Wii U in its new home.

Looks so cozy.
Looks so cozy…and shiny.

As of today, I’ve only had little bits of time here and there to play Super Mario Wii U (so fun!), but I should have more time this weekend to invest in gaming. I’m perfectly giddy at the thought of Cat Mario (eventually), and hell, maybe even Wind Waker (again) and Donkey Kong (again), but mostly at the thought of having a brief holiday hiatus with Mario. Just the way it should be. 🙂

11 thoughts on “We’ll return to your regularly scheduled video game memories in a moment, but first…”

  1. SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE! That is so awesome! You’re so lucky! I’m pretty sure you can buy new Wiimotes at Walmart, I think they’re in the gaming section, maybe. Anyway, have fun on your new Wii U!

    Like

    1. 🙂 I make no promises when it comes to me and online stuff, but we’ll see. Though this does remind me that I have to do something about our aging wiimotes; they’re kinda on their last legs.

      Like

Start a conversation

