Why holiday specials matter to me (and it has little to do with nostalgia)

My love of nostalgia was the whole reason I started Recollections of Play (and my love of video games, haha), but sometimes wistful memories of the past have little to do with my current entertainment choices, especially around the holidays. Here’s a piece I wrote for Geek Force Network that explains just this premise.

Geek Force Network

As an older person without kids, what business do I have snuggling up for the annual showings of How the Grinch Stole ChristmasA Charlie Brown Christmas, and Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer? Not much if you ask society. I mean, c’mon lady, don’t you have anything better to do with your holiday time?? There are things to bake, make, and decorate! There’s all that spreading of holiday cheer among your friends, family, and co-workers! And there’s all sorts of other…um, stuff…that, uh, women tend to do around the holidays! Old holiday cartoons are old news!

Well, society my dear, you’ve simply got it all wrong. Yes, it’s true that the holiday season is busy enough for both, ahem, men AND women AND children AND pets, but behind all that hustle and bustle hides, for me, an air of melancholy. It’s not seasonal affective disorder or something as…

View original post 552 more words

3 thoughts on “Why holiday specials matter to me (and it has little to do with nostalgia)”

  1. I don’t enjoy Christmas specials as much as I used to, but I still love them. Rudolf is something I have watched since I was little, this year was the first one that I actually didn’t watch it when it aired. I did watch it later, of course. No way am I passing up an opportunity to watch it with my niece and two nephews.

    Like

    1. Some of my family members also wouldn’t miss the chance to watch old Christmas shows with their kids! There is something special about passing on the tradition of these shows to later generations; and the classic ones are just timeless. Sure, we’ll probably be watching “An Ice Age Christmas” or some of the more modern shows years from now, but they won’t carry with them quite the same memories.

      Like

Start a conversation

