The relationships we keep, with humans and games

Last week on the Geek Force Network, I wrote about my relationships both with games and my better half. I’ve touched upon some of the themes I addressed in my posts here, but consider this GFN article a collected effort of those themes. When you have true a true passion for a hobby like gaming, it helps to find someone who shares it. But even the most the most alike of couples have their differences.

Geek Force Network

game controllers

Last Saturday, Robo♥Beat owner and GFN writer and  Ashley Hagood posted a wonderful article about finding time to game – I highly recommend you check it out if you haven’t already. Oddly enough, that same day, the notion she discussed about time and gaming manifested itself in reality — my reality. Shortly after reading her post, my husband and I started a discussion about our plans for rest of the weekend. During that talk, I mentioned (in passing, I thought) that I wanted to squeeze in some GTA V. Without missing a beat, my husband perked up with a half-sarcastic, half-serious comment along the lines of have you always been such a gamer? I paused for a moment and replied with an enthusiastic and slightly exaggerated uhhh…YEAH! We ended our conversation, but I could stop thinking have I been talking about GTA V that much recently? And yes, I probably…

View original post 708 more words

2 thoughts on “The relationships we keep, with humans and games”

  1. I wrestle with this often as a gamer married to a non gamer. I try to make sure our time together comes first, but as lame as it seems for some reason i get cranky when I don’t have time to play after a few days. So my solution has been to game at night instead of sleeping…not a great solution haha

    Like

    1. Yes, cranky — I know exactly what you mean! It’s like withdrawal or something, right? We kind of keep the same schedules here, so off-hours gaming isn’t easy to come by. I usually wait till the weekends when we can both find a little time to be occupied by different games or if he has a multiplayer appointment with friends.

      Like

Start a conversation

