Is this love that I’m feeling? More blog awards and a return to the past.

Huzzah and  welcome good readers! One year ago this week, Recollections of Play received its very first blog “award” – the One Lovely Blog Award from Ninety Nine Percent Gaming. And I say that as if this blog is a sentient being, which I’m pretty sure it is at times. A lot has happened here in the year since then and I’m very pleased to report that blogging as only done good things for me! I’ve met an outstanding cast of bloggers, and I’m glad people enjoy my randomness. Rest assured that it shall continue henceforth until…until…well, until whenever. Randomness never ends, though my ability to exist within it…that’s another story.

Anywaaaaay…

In very recent times, I’ve gotten a couple more awards, and now seems quite apropos to acknowledge these fine folks and their good deeds.  J. L. Martin Designs nominated me in his post about receiving the Sunshine Blogger and Inner Peace awards.

sunshine-award

inner-peace-award

And The Duck of Indeed and Ladycroft3 of Linksaveszelda both nominated me for the One Lovely Blog Award. To these kind people I say a hearty THANK YOU! Please check out their blogs — they truly do not and will not disappoint.

onelovelyblog

So with awards such as these comes a number of rules requirements hat one should try to meet. Given that I’m almost at my One Lovely Blog award’s one-year anniversary (y’know, all that babbling at the beginning of this post), I will focus on that award here, the requirements of which are as follows:

  • Thank the person who nominated you
  • Add the “One Lovely Blog” image to your post
  • Share 7 things about you
  • Pass the award to 7 nominees
  • Inform the nominees chosen by posting on their blog

In preserving the retrospective theme with which I started, I thought it’d be fun to look back at the 7 things I shared a year ago and expand upon them or see if they still hold up. The original seven are in italics with my notes below.

  • I grew up in a small town outside Philadelphia.
    Welp, can’t say this isn’t still true. I wasn’t born in Southeastern PA, but I lived my life up to college-age there. Then I moved to the South. Then I moved out West. And now I’m back on the East coast. Life, it is a cycle.
  • The dumbest song currently on my IPod is “Peanut Butter Jelly Time.”
    Now-a-days, I think I have to give this credit to “Moves Like Jagger.” Goddamn, is that a dumb, douchey, and ridiculously catchy song. And now it’s gonna be stuck in my head all night. Shit.
  • I have a soft spot for Troma and Troma-distributed movies, like Cannibal: The Musical.
    Still guilty as charged. Troma movies are their own kind of farce that either you love to love or hate to love. But while the movies are wonderful, the independent spirit in which they are made is even better.  To hear about that for yourself, check out Slackjaw Punk’s interview with President of Troma Studios Lloyd Kaufman.
  • I really like Trivial Pursuit — even the insane original version.
    Like most kids, I grew up with plenty of board games, from Candyland to Life to Monopoly. But for some reason, Trivial Pursuit was always my favorite, and we had several different editions of the game. I currently own two versions: the Millennium edition and the Star Wars edition, and we can totally play sometime.
  • My favorite book is Alice in Wonderland.
    Yes, yes, and yes. It’s the one book that I can read from front to back in a single sitting; and I can recite quotes and passages from it from memory. I love everything about the book, from the story itself to Carroll’s writing style. Twas brillig, and the slithy toves… (Yes, yes, Through the Looking Glass, I know…)
  • As a kid, I loved winter.  As an adult, I hate it.
    I should clarify that I meant snow, not winter. Winter is a fine season; and snow is pretty when it falls, but not when it accumulates. I don’t even like “snow days” anymore because they equate to “shoveling snow,” which is a horrible activity.
  • I’ll wait in line for an hour to ride a roller coaster, but never more than 15 minutes for a table at a restaurant.
    There’s something very irksome about waiting for a table at a restaurant, particularly if it isn’t all that spectacular. I just don’t understand the long lines outside of places like Olive Garden and Red Lobster. I mean, once you’ve had the breadsticks and biscuits, the thrill is gone.

With that outta the way, onward with nominations? So very many of the great blogs I follow have received these nods before, and I’m not sure I want to start repeating myself. (As I’ve said before, ahem, check out my sidebar, ahem.) So what I’d like to do instead is direct your attention to the good people of the Geek Force Network. Not only should you follow the site, but you should follow all these wonderful writers on Twitter:

@CheeeseToastie
@CrystalKM
@game_sammich
@JoshuaEvo
@Ladycroft_3
@murfurious
@pixelbubble
@roboheartbeat
@simpleekgrl
@wrongbuttonblog (which recently featured United We Game, and no, I’m not gonna shut up about it.)
@thebuzzershow
@TheChindividual
@the_last_rewind

So once again, thank you to J. L. Martin Designs, Ladycroft3, and the Duck of Indeed; and happy writing, reading, sharing, and following to all!

8 thoughts on “Is this love that I’m feeling? More blog awards and a return to the past.”

  1. I lived in the South, the West, and the East, as well. And my favorite board game was Monopoly. But, no one would play with me, so I always had to play board games alone, which was a bit weird. I’ve wanted to read “Alice in Wonderland”. Perhaps I should. And I’m like you about waiting in line. I’d rather not, but if I must wait for an hour in line at Disneyland (only Disney-related places, nowhere else), I will. But, I’m not waiting for food. I can go get food somewhere else. I can’t really ride the “Pirates of the Caribbean” ride somewhere else…unless I go to a different Disney place, but then that would be quite a hassle.

    Like

    1. Yes, the Disney theme parks are the exception to rules, and usually their waiting lines are filled with stuff to look at, so the times goes by relatively fast. I have to say that my best theme park experiences have always been when it rains during the day. That usually clears out most folks making the lines much shorter once they get the rides going again. Yes, you end up with wet pants at the end of the day, but it’s totally worth it.

      I used to enjoy playing Life and Mousetrap by myself. Life could get to be a really long game with lots of people, so we didn’t play it very often. But I had fun traveling cars around the board, gathering money, and all that. With Mousetrap, it annoyed me when my younger siblings would set off the trap all willy-nilly, especially when the mouse wasn’t in the trap! That’s the whole point of the game, kids!

      Like

Start a conversation

