iTunes Diaries, entry #6: “Can’t Get You Out of My Head” by Kylie Minogue

I was once a little…um, okay, terribly obsessed with iTunes.  I got my first iPod in 2004 and became immediately entranced by Apple’s seeming infinite lists of music for sale.  Over the years, I spent way too much time on iTunes and spent way too much money on music, some of which was great, and some of which was not.  In 2011, for the sake of my sanity and my bank account, I went cold turkey.  I suspended my iTunes activities and completely stopped visiting site.  With the iTunes Diaries, I take a look back, highlighting the good, the bad, and the ugly in music that I just had to have in the moment. 

********************

Have you ever gotten song so stuck in your head that it literally drives you bananas? Like, it constantly repeats in your head so many times that you just want to bang your skull against a wall in order think about anything else other than that damned song? That’s what happened with me and Kylie Minogue’s  hit “Can’t Get You Out of My Head.” And the only way I could way I could break to constant-loop cycle was to fully accept the song into my life.

Like many people on the planet, the first time saw Kylie Minogue was way back in 1988 when she did that “Loco-Motion” remake. If you’ve never seen the video or heard the song, well, I’m about to fix that:

From YouTube user Peter Toshiro Matsumoto.

And you are ever so welcome.

Anyway. After everyone traded in their neon and spandex for plaid shirts and combat boots, Minogue’s sparkly, Aqua Net-ridden dust settled into the world’s musical background. She continued to produce music and was far from unsuccessful. But she didn’t really make a ton of waves in the American music scene for several years.

Queue the new millennium and a new Kylie Minogue. All grown up and ready to take back the shiz-nitz of her musical career, a sleeker, sexier Minogue hit the airways and clubs hard in 2001 with her groovalicious dance album Fever. And the one song that made everyone’s head spin was “Can’t Get You Out of My Head.”

From YouTube user HQrecords1.

With its heady electro-pop, toned down, futuristic beats, and more than a hint of sex appeal, Minogue quickly became the “It girl” of the new millennium. And that was nice. I was happy for her making such a huge comeback. I thought “Can’t Get You Out of My Head” was a fun, dance-y song, but I wasn’t about to get all Minogue-ified. At the turn of the 2000, my trip into electronica veered into much more sinister territory than what Minogue offered for the masses. And time marched on.

Several years later, the song unexpectedly can back into my life through a goddamned car commercial of all things. That’s right…a car commercial. It was for a local dealer — y’know, the kind teetering on the edge of legality and public access television? Well this particular shyster decided that playing a small instrumental clip for “Can’t Get You Out of My Head” behind a voice over was the greatest advertising ploy ever. And I swear that that commercial showed up on every station we watched at least a couple times a day.

And that’s all it took.

Soon I was hearing those la-la-la, la la lalala’s during my commute, over dinner, in the shower…even in my dreams. No amount of other music could drown out the notes that had saturated my brain. No amount of liquor could make me forget. And I eventually caved. I’d had enough of Minogue’s druggy cocktail of addictive bass and slithery lyrics; and I knew the only way out was to give in. I gave iTunes my 99 cents, placed “Can’t Get You Out of My Head” on an eclectic dance playlist, and submitted to its high production values.

And no matter how many times it cycles round my iPod today, I can’t help but think of that sneaky, sneaky car commercial. The power of advertising indeed.

She looks rather...uncomfortable? (source)
She looks rather…uncomfortable? And possibly asleep. (source)

4 thoughts on “iTunes Diaries, entry #6: “Can’t Get You Out of My Head” by Kylie Minogue”

  1. “More than a hint of sex appeal”? Wow… I would say that’s understating it, and even though I tend to understate things, I’d say she started OOZING it from about that point.

    Like

    1. LOL! Yeah, you’re right about that. I had originally written something about her Playboy-ready transformation and it sounds a bit sleazy. But I guess I toned it down a little TOO much. 🙂

      Like

  2. Haha! That song is quite catchy. It’s enough to drive anyone insane. No wonder the song’s title is so appropriate. It does its job well…almost too well I think. 😉

    I do like Kylie Minogue’s song. This along with all her other hit songs are good for dancing and it’s upbeat enough to get you going in the mornings too!

    Like

    1. You’re right abut that! I’m not Minogue’s biggest fan, but she’s pretty savvy with her music choices, whether the sound is slinky and sexy or simple and pretty.

      Like

Start a conversation

