The Last Story, unintended part 2, with music

Before I start writing a blog post, I’ll usually type up a few notes about the game I want to write about.  They jog my memory as I’m writing and help me stay on track. (Whether or not they actually work in that regard…well…) Sometimes I save these notes and sometimes I don’t; but every couple weeks, I’ll delete the ones I had saved, figuring I’ll never need them again. I’ll open a file, take a quick look, and then delete it.  Today I was doing just this task when I opened the notes from my previous post on The Last Story.  And what do I notice typed at the very top but “THEME SONG.” Holy jeezus. I don’t know how I missed what has currently become my most favorite video game song, but I did. (I must have been thinking too much about Lowell…sigh fluttery sigh.)  I fell in love with The Last Story’s theme song from the moment it started playing. (The whole soundtrack is pretty awesome.)  Which is appropriate considering the story is about love and all.  But we’ve already covered that.

The full song is called Toberu Mono, and it was composed by the famous Nobuo Uematsu, video game composer extraordinaire who’s probably best know for his work on most of the Final Fantasy titles.  In addition to the chorus playing during the opening load, you also hear this bit during various points in the game, and the full, worded version is sung during the credits.  The sung version is very pretty, but the instrumental version is simply divine.

From YouTube user riw89.

There’s nothing quite like a violin to evoke simultaneous joy and sadness.  The melody says so much in just a few short notes. It sets the mood before even playing and sets forth an expectation that fates both wonderful and terrible will be met.  There’s some hope as the tune sighs upward and some despair as it leans low. The song’s duality, using both major and minor keys, is an simple but effective gesture. The harmony ebbs and flows perfectly with the melody.

The Last Story is a tumultuous love story with many moments of genuine peace between the games’ main characters. This theme song affords the player a similar moment of peace before swooping into the grand story itself.  It’s a fantastic meditative start that belies the game’s fun and frenetic pace.

4 thoughts on “The Last Story, unintended part 2, with music”

Start a conversation

